05/24 - Buddy - AMPS 116 PMPS 97

Are you ever able to get any night time test? A +2 is always helpful. If it is higher than your PMPS you will probably have an uneventful night. If it about the same, or lower, you might think about getting a +4. I know. Know one wants to test at night but it is a good idea just to keep him safe. Are you following TR or SLGS?
 
Are you ever able to get any night time test? A +2 is always helpful. If it is higher than your PMPS you will probably have an uneventful night. If it about the same, or lower, you might think about getting a +4. I know. Know one wants to test at night but it is a good idea just to keep him safe. Are you following TR or SLGS?

I am getting low on test strips, perhaps I can later this week. I should be getting more strips via amazon on Wed.

On another note, my Vet says if I can keep him at a week pretty consistently at 120 or lower on the AT2, then I can try to take him off the insulin. Does that sound about right to most here?
 
I am getting low on test strips, perhaps I can later this week. I should be getting more strips via amazon on Wed.

On another note, my Vet says if I can keep him at a week pretty consistently at 120 or lower on the AT2, then I can try to take him off the insulin. Does that sound about right to most here?
We find that the cats have a much better chance at remission if between 68-100 for at least a week before stopping insulin to get a strong remission or preferably use a human meter and get them between 50-80.
 
I am getting low on test strips, perhaps I can later this week. I should be getting more strips via amazon on Wed.

On another note, my Vet says if I can keep him at a week pretty consistently at 120 or lower on the AT2, then I can try to take him off the insulin. Does that sound about right to most here?
I have to agree with tiffmaxee. I wanted my kitty to be between 70 and 120 but they do say that lower, safe numbers like 68-100 on the AT2 or 50-80 and the human meter are better. By the way, you are probably spending a ton of money on the Alpha Trac test strips. I think I was paying about $50 for 50 strips. If you switch to the ReliOn Prime meter you can get 200 test strips for about $18. I don't know where you live but I get my supplies from Walmart here in Florida. The ReliOn Prime meter is a little different. You need just a tad more blood and you can't push the strip in half way before getting a test but you would get used to it. Also, the ReliOn meter tends to read a little lower. Anyway, I'm not pushing you on anything. You are the caregiver and you can make your own decisions. Good luck!
 
Back
Top