05/23 Norman AMPS 418, +3.5 247, PMPS 171

Nicoleandnorman

Member Since 2020
Hello,

This is my first post, I hope I am following all the rules. I've been working for the last few hours to get Normans spreadsheet done up, I'm unsure if it's correct, but it seems to be ok. I wasn't sure how to log blood sugar on the half an hour, so all +3 and +4 you see are actually +3.5 and +4.5. I also didn't know how to log his meals so I put them in the comments (it's the exact same every day)

So a little back story. Norman got diagnosed in March 2020, just as everything shut down. So I've never actually met my vet face to face, and I've only learned how to test and give him his shots from my own research (thank you all, this has been my best resource)

I'm also not in a great place financially, and my vet charges me $80 even just to call and ask questions. So I'm doing a lot of this alone, and there's a lot of anxiety. I'm TERRIFIED of a low. Like, won't leave for more than an hour so I can constantly watch him, and over analyze every thing he does, kind of terrified. Even though I've never seen a number below 7.8 (140)

My anxiety actually caused me to put off doing a curve for months (test time is stressful in my house, but getting better) and my poor baby has been unregulated since his diagnosis.

He was always around 18-20 almost all of last year, on 1.5u of levemir. But he was seemed much better; not flooding the litterbox as often, put weight back on, only screaming for food his normal amount. Then he started to get neuropathy in his back legs in January. Again, I couldn't afford to go to the vet, so I started him on methyl-b12 based on what I read on this message board. (Within 2 weeks his legs were almost back to normal) But when I put him on the B12 I had to go a while without test strips due to financial issues.

When I tested him when I got strips again (2 weeks later ) his pre shot number was 7, and when I tested 10 mins later it was 6.7 which scared the crap out of me. So in late March we basically started over. I started him on .5u of his levemir, and I have been lost ever since.

His numbers just don't make sense to me. No matter what dose I have him on he seems to hang around the high teens/low twenties, then occasionally I'll get a pre shot number like today's (171) and it freaks me out! And I pull back, and then the numbers go up again.

Or like, I'll log his pre shot number and be ok with it, then check him 4.5 hours later and expect him to have fallen into a good range, but his numbers will have gone up significantly.

I just feel like he's so all over the place that I don't know if I'm dealing with a bounce, or some carryover, or does he simply need a higher dose? Or less of a dose? She's he need a different insulin? I don't know

If you've made it this far into my stressed out mess of a post, thank you. I basically need someone who knows what they're doing to look at his numbers and tell me what you think. Also, if anybody can ease my mind a bit about lows, that would be a huge help. I don't even know what to look for. My cat is a goofy, clumsy, screaming ball of personality. So the typical "if your cat seems drunk/is yowling/is screaming for food" only gives me more anxiety because those are his main personality traits.

Even if no one can help me here, thank you all so much much, this message board has been a lifesaver so far. ❤️


TL;Dr my cat is unregulated, numbers don't make sense, and I don't know what to do.
 
Hello and welcome. Levemir is a very good insulin for cats. However, it has a later nadir that most other insulins, so it's possible when you saw that 171 it was one of the lowest numbers during that cycle. People who use Levemir have to get used to shooting lower numbers. When you shoot a lower number, the cycle tends to be a lot flatter. 171 would have been a perfectly fine number to shoot. Side note, I followed TR and often gave Neko her Levemir with a preshot in the 50's. Her onset was +5, so she'd go up for 5 hours after preshot, before the next shot took effect and started lowering her blood sugar again.

I would go back to 0.75 units, and after three days, if possible, do a curve. The curve might give you an idea when the onset and typical nadir are for Norman. I also rather suspect he'll need an increase to 1.0 units, but the curve will be the judge of that. If you can at nights, I'd try to get a test before going to bed. Many cats go lower at night and we determine how to change the dose based on how low the dose takes the cat.
 
Thank you so much for the quick reply!

I just took the time to peek at Neko's spreadsheets and now I'm in bed crying, because I could tell how very very loved she was/still is ❤️

I've done so much reading and research into nadir and all the other terms, but having someone actually relate it to their experience like that just made it make so much more sense. I'm so scared of a low that I tend to err on the side of caution a little too much.

I'm really glad I set up Normans spreadsheet and have been looking at the conversions, because the mg/dL is much less scary. When I see like a 9 or a 7, knowing a 3 is low im like "that's so close", but as soon as I converted it and typed 171 it was much less scary, and I was kind of beating myself up about not giving him his shot.

I'll go back to the .75 and then do a curve. I also tend to test him (especially lately, since I've realized I need to get it more under control) at about +3.5 which is when I go to bed (shot at 830, bed at midnight). But I can set an alarm and wake up to test him if that's what I need to do. I'm really bad for only testing him when he eats (4 times a day- he's always been a hungry, loud, boy) because it's so much easier. He hates testing (me too buddy) and will fight me the other times, but is complacent with food infront of him.

Should I come back to this thread when I have the curve? Or make a new post?
 
Should I come back to this thread when I have the curve? Or make a new post?
Our preference is that you start a new post for a new day, and just link back to this old one if people want to go back and see the history.

Does he get a treat for testing? That really helped Neko learn to love it. Startled me the first time she purred through her testing.
 
He does not get a treat (only me singing to him, which he enjoys, but I don't think is a treat )

I am still very unsure of what I can give him as a treat! We never really did treats in our house because he's had issues with urinary crystals since he was a little kitten, so we just stuck to vet food. Which I realized too late was way too high carb.

Do you have any recommendations?
 
Anything that is pure meat is fine as a treat. Some boil or bake a chicken breast and cut it into small cubes, freezing what you don't need right away. Or you can buy freeze dried all meat treats at most pet stores. Often the dog size is larger and the same thing, so you get more treats for your money, provided the cat likes it of course. Usually freeze dried chicken is well received.
 
Back
Top