? 05/23 Eddie AMPS 70 +12.20 95 +2 185 +5.5 216 PMPS 223 +8 234

Jodey&Eddie&Blue

Member Since 2021
Hello here is yesterday"

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/05-22-eddie-amps-155-7-25-299-pmps-340-8-122.277814/

Please note PM +8 122. I gave him a snack (LC) at that time but he was AMPS 70, so I fed a little HC (gravy) and tested again in 20 minutes and took the shot at 95. I reduced from 11u to 10.5u and will test again in a few minutes.

I am supposed to be taking Blue for an MRI on the 29th and it just fills me with dread to think of Eddie being here and not being tested especially when the petsitter won't be giving him the PM +8 snack either....I took the reduction because on the AlphaTrak Eddie is under 72, which is the lowest number in the range.

@Wendy&Neko What do you think? Stay at 10.5 as a holiday dose?? He's sure keeping me alert!
 
29th is a long time away in a post SRT cat. Let’s. Check in a few days from now. That will give you a better idea how he will do on the 10.5 unit dose.

BTW, the idea of stalling is NOT to feed, or at most LC. You shot a food influenced number. Please get a +2 if you can.
 
Last edited:
29th is a long time away in a post SRT cat. Let’s. Heck in a few days from now. That will give you a better idea how he will do on the 10.5 unit dose.

BTW, the idea of stalling is NOT to feed, or at most LC. You shot a food influenced number. Please get a +2 if you can.

Got the +2 185 and am about to get a +6. I gave very little HC, like not even a full tsp. Put it on top of LC. I was going by previous pre-shot events and I thought I was to feed, test in 20 mins ... etc, because of low numbers on the AlphaTrak???
 
I was going by previous pre-shot events and I thought I was to feed, test in 20 mins ... etc, because of low numbers on the AlphaTrak???
But it wasn't low numbers on the AT, it was above 68. Stalling if lower than you are comfy shooting, but still safe to shoot, means no food and wait 15-20 minutes then retest.

And there's the bounce. :rolleyes:
 
But it wasn't low numbers on the AT, it was above 68. Stalling if lower than you are comfy shooting, but still safe to shoot, means no food and wait 15-20 minutes then retest.

And there's the bounce. :rolleyes:

Yes, the bounce. :rolleyes::cat:But. When I look at the AT numbers on the World scale, he was at 3.9 this morning and I was taught that the "normal" range to shoot was 4.0-8.0 (72-144) so I was just going by that for the reduction. At 68, he'd be at 3.7 so I'm a little confused...

Now does the bounce suggest we might return to 11u by the 29th? This is a hypothetical question...
 
When following TR, reduction point is below 68, above that is OK to shoot. When following SLGS, the reduction and safe to shoot point is 90 (5.0). Not sure where you got the 72-144 from.

Bounce just means he went lower today than he's used to lately, it does not impact dosing decisions. Ask yourself, how low does this dose take my cat? Is that where you want him to go (potentially) when you are away?
 
When following TR, reduction point is below 68, above that is OK to shoot. When following SLGS, the reduction and safe to shoot point is 90 (5.0). Not sure where you got the 72-144 from.

Bounce just means he went lower today than he's used to lately, it does not impact dosing decisions. Ask yourself, how low does this dose take my cat? Is that where you want him to go (potentially) when you are away?
I see your point. The 72-144 range is what I was told by vets re: the AlphaTrak; that is, the normal blood glucose level is 80-120 mg/dL (4.4-6.6 mmol/L).
 
The 72-144 range is what I was told by vets re: the AlphaTrak; that is, the normal blood glucose level is 80-120 mg/dL (4.4-6.6 mmol/L).
Got a non diabetic cat you can test that theory on? I've tested a few, mine plus a friends, all either 50's or high 40's human meter. One went to 70's when on prednisolone.
 
Got a non diabetic cat you can test that theory on? I've tested a few, mine plus a friends, all either 50's or high 40's human meter. One went to 70's when on prednisolone.
Is the point here that you are using a human meter? I think I recall JL saying that a low reading on an AT with variation can mean much lower than it looks.

But to clear things up, I want to be sure I understand the implications: with that AMPS reading of 70, I ought to have been able to take the shot, esp. if I had stalled a bit and not got a food-driven number? Secondly, if this is the case, I didn't necessarily have to decrease dose. Thirdly, does this mean I ought to/could go back to 11u? If so, when?
 
No, the point is to use your AT to test your non diabetic cat and see if he/she falls into the range your vet suggested is normal. Mine tested on the low end of normal. We've also had members test the same blood drop with an AT and a human meter, and had the human meter read lower. You can't generalize that the AT with variation can be much lower than it looks, cause sometimes it's higher. You need to test your meter, not go by what someone else got.

68 is the number we use here if following TR. You are following SLGS, which means below 90 is the no shot numbers.
 
No, the point is to use your AT to test your non diabetic cat and see if he/she falls into the range your vet suggested is normal. Mine tested on the low end of normal. We've also had members test the same blood drop with an AT and a human meter, and had the human meter read lower. You can't generalize that the AT with variation can be much lower than it looks, cause sometimes it's higher. You need to test your meter, not go by what someone else got.

68 is the number we use here if following TR. You are following SLGS, which means below 90 is the no shot numbers.

I'm beginning to think I'm following TR since I'm currently testing as much now as I was before when I was following TR. But one more question: when you say "below 90 is the no shot numbers" that no shot is given below 90????? Sorry if I'm seeming a bit dense here; just trying to get some traction.
 
If you are following SLGS, the guidelines is no shot if they are below 90 at preshot. You either skip, or stall and wait until they rise above 90.
 
Back
Top