05/23/2013 PMPS=398 +5=238

Status
Not open for further replies.

ftsang & Jessica

Member Since 2013
Hi,
05/22/2013 PMPS=398 +5=238. A little bit lower than yesterday.
05/23/2013 AMPS=384

It has a week since I increased the dose to 2U from 1.75. Should I increase the dose to 2.25U?

Thanks
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!

I haven't had a chance to greet you yet or post on your condos. We're glad you are here. I read back through your initial posts.

I'm glad you were able to get the preshot tests last night and this morning. Good job!

There are two possibilities for her current numbers:
1. When the BG has been high for a prolonged time, it can take more insulin to break through those numbers and so you have a bit of insulin resistance until you get to a dose that can break through it

2. She could be going lower than you realize.

When we see numbers like this on a spreadsheet (SS), with missing data, especially the preshots, we are reticent to suggest a dose increase. When kitties go lower or drop quickly, they often "bounce". When Jessica was diagnosed, her body had become accustomed to higher BGs. When the insulin starts working and numbers come down, the liver reacts by releasing counterregulatory hormones and glucagon to bring the BG back up to what it considers to be normal. This occurs in just about all newly diagnosed cats. It can take up to six cycles to clear those hormones out so you can see how the BG is a tally responding to the dose.

It's difficult to tell right now where she is although I suspect she might need more insulin. I hope feeding her at +9 or so allows you to continue to get those PS tests. They are really important. If you can perhaps grab a test before you leave for work and as soon as you get home, that will help, too. You are doing great at getting a before bed test.

I'd see if you can get just a few more tests for a cycle or so and then we might be able to see which way to go. Perhaps you can get more sport checks this weekend like you did last weekend. That would be great!

If you could, please, on the subject line for today, just put her AMPS and any other tests from today. We usually provide a link to the previous condo on the current one. Here is Jessicas 5/22 Condo.

Please let us know if you have other questions.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top