05/21 Willow Dose advice please/ no longer needed thanks! XO

nslade001

Member Since 2018
Last convo

In advance, thanking you guys all so much :) don't know what we'd do without you!!!

So question... I currently can't update SS at home, so forgive me the awkward posting, but she's doing wonderfully tonight, and now I'm wondering about tomorrow.

Her numbers tonight are:
Pmps... 79 (4.4)
Shot 2.05 U Lantus
+2... 58 (3.2)
+2.5... 61 (3.4)
+3... 65 (3.6)
+4... 61 (3.4)
+5... 63 (3.5)

I won't be able to get help tomorrow morning in time for her shot, so would love a guideline if someone could offer one. Today sort of reminded me of Mar 29 on her SS, when I gave a BCS to her lowest preshot and she still went sort of low... She also earned a reduction that day so it was a lower dose next morning, which isn't happening this time.

What should I do if she doesn't rise by amps? Like, if she's lower than tonight's preshot?

Should I BCS? Or grow a set? Lol. Not used to the low greens, especially shooting them.

Thank you so, so much. With love, Nikki

PS tagging @Bron and Sheba in hopes you're around tonight, and @Sandy and Black Kitty , because you've also offered guidance before.

Of course, grateful for any and all guidance and opinions!!!
 
What should I do if she doesn't rise by amps? Like, if she's lower than tonight's preshot?

If you're unable to test and she's lower, I'd probably just skip and call it a furshot. Better too high for a day than too low for a moment.

Her depot should help continue to hold her in nice numbers for one cycle.

If you are able to test tomorrow, I'd shoot the scheduled dose (2.05) if she's above 50. (Scary, I know!)

You could also stall if you can, don't feed and test again in 20 minutes to see if she's coming up without the influence of food (or test early like at +11.5 so you have 30 minutes to consider your options)
 
If you are able to test tomorrow, I'd shoot the scheduled dose (2.05) if she's above 50. (Scary, I know!)
Thanks, Chris! It is scary, but I know I'll have to shoot lower numbers soon, just hoping they don't start dropping *too* fast lol.

And it looks like it's not a problem yet...Up to 5.3 this morning. At least she's still green!

And good idea for me to test a bit early...Hubby and I can take a while "talking things through" lol and run late with the shot if we're not careful :)

With love, Nikki
 
A few weeks ago you said you found a Dental Specialist for Willow. What was wrong with her & how did it turn out?
My Kitty Peggy Sue has an infected tooth. Because she's nearly 17 & has lost weight the vet is hesitant to do dental on her.
He wants me to give her clavamox for a week & then bring her in. I'm so afraid I'm going to lose her from the anesthesia!
 
A few weeks ago you said you found a Dental Specialist for Willow. What was wrong with her & how did it turn out?
My Kitty Peggy Sue has an infected tooth. Because she's nearly 17 & has lost weight the vet is hesitant to do dental on her.
He wants me to give her clavamox for a week & then bring her in. I'm so afraid I'm going to lose her from the anesthesia!

Hi @JoyBee&Ravan ,

I'm sorry to hear about Peggy Sue's tooth, although it is good to have an idea what is causing her appetite issues.

We took Willow to the specialist, and along with the cracked canine and tartar on a molar which we were aware of, she has a lot of resorption, which I suspected. The vet figured she'd need 1½ hours under anaesthesia to finish her dentistry.

She also made it clear that, along with the usual risks of anaesthetic with a 17.5 year old ( and there'd be a board certified anaesthesiologist) with Willow's other issues there was a chance that she'd pull thru the dentistry but the anaesthetic/ dental surgery might push her *other* issues over the edge, so she might suddenly start going downhill from one or another of her other problems, and not recover. Remember Willow is a diabetic also just diagnosed with CRF, who at the time was on antibiotics for possible UTI or nephritis, and has a history of possible pancreatitis and IBD, and was pretty inappetent at the time, often needing mirtz.

Since she'd never been seen by the internist to be "cleared" as it were for anaesthetic, the risk factor was unknown but definitely there. And the dentistry would make her more comfortable eating, but to what extent we don't know since it depends on her pain tolerance anyway.

So we opted not to risk the dentistry. We have begun puréeing all her food, even pates, with water with an immersion blender to make a true slurry, so she doesn't have to chew at all now, and it's definitely helped her eat.... Even the pates would occasionally cause some issues. There's no more turning her head when eating to move food to a more comfortable spot, or tongue flicking etc. Definitely a positive difference because all she has to do is lick.She's still inappetent sometimes, but we know she's not hurting from chewing at least.

We also upped her gabapentin which she gets for neuropathy from 12.5 mg twice daily to 25 mg twice daily, just in case it might help with any pain she has from her untreated mouth.

So that's where we stand. It's a really, really difficult decision to make, I know where you're coming from and am sorry you're there :( :bighug:

With love, Nikki
 
Back
Top