05/20/2021 Scout, how many daily feedings?

Scout's mom

Member Since 2021
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...amps-300-shot-or-no-shot.247498/#post-2791949

AMPS 340

When Scout came home from the hospital on 04/30/2021, I was feeding him 4x/day through his feeding tube and then reduced it to 3x/day on the advice of the hospital internist. After he began to consistently eat on his own and the tube was removed, I was advised to feed him 2x/day aligned with each insulin injection. Is this the correct frequency? I see on here that many people feed in several intervals throughout the day. I am single, currently work full-time from home, and will be gradually increasing my work hours away from home. I would not be able to use a timed feeder when I'm gone all day because my other cat would eat the food for Scout. (And, unfortunately, Scout would submit to that and allow him to).
 
Hi Mary,

I feed Ruby six times a day: once at every shot and two more times each cycle, spaced out in two or three hour intervals up until +6 as my schedule allows. This is easier on the cat's stomach and helps to even out the curve. It's not advised to feed after +6 as that is usually when the insulin is waning and you don't want to work against that with food.

I also have two microchip feeders from Sure Feed for my cats so that one cannot get into the food for the other. They are pricey but a great investment as I can control portions and know exactly how much each cat eats. The only thing I wish they had was a timer, but I'm sure someone is working on inventing that! If I'm not home, I would put the day's portion into the microchip feeder and on nights, weekends or days off try to feed smaller meals. If the preshot number is one that is lower than I am more comfortable with, I'd put medium carb or even high carb food in the feeder to keep the kitty safe.
 
Hi Mary,

I feed Ruby six times a day: once at every shot and two more times each cycle, spaced out in two or three hour intervals up until +6 as my schedule allows. This is easier on the cat's stomach and helps to even out the curve. It's not advised to feed after +6 as that is usually when the insulin is waning and you don't want to work against that with food.

I also have two microchip feeders from Sure Feed for my cats so that one cannot get into the food for the other. They are pricey but a great investment as I can control portions and know exactly how much each cat eats. The only thing I wish they had was a timer, but I'm sure someone is working on inventing that! If I'm not home, I would put the day's portion into the microchip feeder and on nights, weekends or days off try to feed smaller meals. If the preshot number is one that is lower than I am more comfortable with, I'd put medium carb or even high carb food in the feeder to keep the kitty safe.

Thank you for your response! I don't think that even a microchip feeder would work because Scout literally will stop eating whenever his brother, Phineas, approaches to eat out of his bowl and Scout just hangs out next to the bowl watching Phin eat. It's the oddest thing because Scout is not submissive to Phineas in any other way than this. If Scout was still standing next to the feeder, I assume it would remain open?
 
Thank you for your response! I don't think that even a microchip feeder would work because Scout literally will stop eating whenever his brother, Phineas, approaches to eat out of his bowl and Scout just hangs out next to the bowl watching Phin eat. It's the oddest thing because Scout is not submissive to Phineas in any other way than this. If Scout was still standing next to the feeder, I assume it would remain open?
The microchip sensor is built inside of the handle of the feeder, so Scout would literally have to stick his head under it for it to open. Standing next to it or near it will not trigger the door. Phineas could wiggle his head in, but as soon as Scout steps away the door of the feeder closes. You can set the speed of the door closing to slow or fast to keep other cats out. Eventually, Phineas will learn that that particular feeder doesn't work for him and he will back off. :)

Ruby was a real bully about food with her sister Olive and Olive would only get whatever was leftover, so Ruby got chubby and developed diabetes. Olive used to scarf her food all the time for fear there would not be any food left and she vomited chronically and remained underweight. Now that I have the feeders, the two are super relaxed about eating because there's no competition for food anymore. No overeating for Ruby and no scarf and barf for Olive. Win win!
 
The microchip sensor is built inside of the handle of the feeder, so Scout would literally have to stick his head under it for it to open. Standing next to it or near it will not trigger the door. Phineas could wiggle his head in, but as soon as Scout steps away the door of the feeder closes. You can set the speed of the door closing to slow or fast to keep other cats out. Eventually, Phineas will learn that that particular feeder doesn't work for him and he will back off. :)

Ruby was a real bully about food with her sister Olive and Olive would only get whatever was leftover, so Ruby got chubby and developed diabetes. Olive used to scarf her food all the time for fear there would not be any food left and she vomited chronically and remained underweight. Now that I have the feeders, the two are super relaxed about eating because there's no competition for food anymore. No overeating for Ruby and no scarf and barf for Olive. Win win!

Wonderful, thank you, this is very helpful!
 
Back
Top