05/2 Annie PMPS 248, +1-234, +2-218

Status
Not open for further replies.

RockStar033

Member Since 2012
Well, Annie had a case of the "purps" last night :lol: .... i'm feeling a dose increase coming on, but i'm not making that decision on my own.
It felt good to catch up on some sleep last night though

Gonna call the vet today today about getting her off the steroids. I fed her before bed at around 3am. She was also crying a bit last night, and it was "somethings wrong" cry, it sounded so sad :sad: must be her Pancreatitis... how long does it take for it to subside?

I just tested Annie at +2 and it's at 400! ... i know i didn't have a fur shot.
Yesterday her pre shot was low, and she climbed a bit and stayed in the purple through the day, today she started purple, and now she's in the red... hmmmm

could she still be in a bounce? should i think about upping her dose? or wait a bit?
 
Re: 05/2 Annie AMPS 353, +2 400????

or could the red be a food spike? either way, i'm assuming she will be kinda high for the rest of the day but we will see when i test her at +3
 
Re: 05/2 Annie AMPS 353, +2 400????

hi star! she looks to me like she's still bouncing. could be a combination of that and the meds - but i wouldn't change her dose at this time. the 400 will clear - although we hate to see those red numbers! let's see where she is for the rest of her cycle today.
 
Re: 05/2 Annie AMPS 353, +2 400, +4 416

i reread through your post yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=70002 to see what carolyn & sienne advised you. it sounds like the prenisolone might be affecting her blood glucose, and if she is able to be tapered off of the prednisolone, that might improve her numbers.

Based upon what you said about her crying last night, if she's still in pain, she should probably be getting some painkiller, like Buprinex, perhaps. pain can cause increased BGs as well.

let's see what your vet says about those.

Sienne and Gabby said:
Annie is adorable!!

I'm presuming all of the meds you're giving Annie are for the pancreatitis. And yes, prednisolone can be given to great pancreatitis. I'm including a link to a post on pancreatitis that a vet tech (Jojo) who was, at one time, very active here, put together. Given that p'titis is painful, is there a reason you vet didn't give any pain meds (e.g., buprenorphine)? How is she feeling?

BTW, did the vet run a spec fPL to diagnose the p'titis?

Chances are that the pred may be causing Annie's numbers to be elevated. I wouldn't worry about it, though, since this should be time limited course of treatment. You may need to raise the insulin dose to compensate. It would be helpful if you could note what +time you are giving the pred. We're going to need to try to tease out whether there are bounces or whether this is the pred. It does look like you're right -- Annie isn't getting a big jump in numbers even a couple of hours after the pred and not all cats do. Once Annie has finished the pred, you will need to monitor carefully to make sure she doesn't have a big drop in numbers.
 
Re: 05/2 Annie AMPS 353, +2 400, +4 416

I left a message with my vet about changing the prednilosone. Waiting for him to get back to me

She's been crying within 5 minutes after eating
 
Re: 05/2 Annie PMPS 248

wow! what a crazy day for numbers! .... still giving the 1u though, think she'll be fine... i'll be up for a bit still to watch her
 
Re: 05/2 Annie PMPS 248

Hope she comes down for you. Is she on any painkiller? Pancreatitis is very painful. When our kitty had it, he would cry after he ate if he needed painkillers. Healing vines for Annie!
 
Re: 05/2 Annie PMPS 248

painkillers, not yet, i'm in the midst of changing that right now. she didn't do any crying today... but still.
 
well, at least he got back to you! i guess that's looking on the bright side, but he must be pretty dedicated to be emailing you at midnight.
 
yea he's pretty cool like that, he was away on holiday all last week and gave me his cell phone number and cell phone email, haha...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top