05/19 Butters AMPS 90/+3.5 85/+6 122/PMPS 122/+3 99 - home from vet, thinking of increase

Butters & Lyla

Member Since 2020
Yesterday

Butters's vet saw her first thing this morning. He could see the swelling in her face (including one eye almost completely swollen shut today), but upon inspecting inside her mouth, there was nothing that jumped out at him. He could hear the congestion and said it is in her nasal passages and he thinks it is likely related to the swelling. He wasn't sure why the swelling was "moving around". On Saturday, her lower lip was huge. Today, one of her eyes is huge as is her upper lip.:confused:

That aside, he said the swelling could be from something going on in her mouth below the gumline, maybe an abscessed tooth that he can't see. He can't be sure without xrays etc and that would be the next step, except she cannot have anesthesia at the moment as per her cardiologist. :blackeye: So he ordered a 7-day course of clindamycin and said if there is an oral infection, that should take care of it and buy us some time until her cardiology appointment in mid-July.

We got home from the vet @AM+3.5 and Butters's BG was 85. I gave her the first dose of clindamycin @+4 and now her BG is 122. :( I am positive it doesn't have sugar in it, so what gives?
I am thinking if she stays >100 that I will increase tonight. If not tonight, then tomorrow morning for sure. She has already been bobbling around in the blues for a few days now and I remember how quickly her numbers got away from me last time.

Surf safely, kitties:cat: Have a good day, all.
 
Poor Butters. I hope the medicine kicks in soon but it will take a few days I suspect. Is she eating ok? I’d give her a couple cycles before increasing unless she’s sky high tonight (for her) wait until the morning.
 
Another thing to factor in is that the antibiotic can cause GI upset :(. Maybe make sure it isn’t an issue for Butters first? You should know after a few doses how it’s going & to make sure there isn’t an effect on her appetite.
 
Aww sweet Butters :bighug: Did you get clindamycin drops? Jax had those after his dental his didn't have any sugar. Wendy had recommended to me to make sure you give a good probiotic at least two hours away (before or after) from the AB - Jax was on s boulardii regularly already so I gave him half a capsule (rather than his maintenance dose of a quarter capsule) twice a day while he was on clindamycin and his stool remained normal.

Sorry about her BG...I'm sure you'll use your tools to help that :bighug: Hugs mama bean :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I'm so sorry to hear about Butters. If it is not one thing it is another. Hope the clindamycin helps her. Like Elise asked, is she eating okay?
Yes she is. Thanks for checking on her, Summer.
Another thing to factor in is that the antibiotic can cause GI upset :(. Maybe make sure it isn’t an issue for Butters first? You should know after a few doses how it’s going & to make sure there isn’t an effect on her appetite.
Good point. I'll do this unless things go really haywire with her numbers. So far after the one dose she is still eating her snacks right up. Hopefully she continues to eat.
Aww sweet Butters :bighug: Did you get clindamycin drops? Jax had those after his dental his didn't have any sugar. Wendy had recommended to me to make sure you give a good probiotic at least two hours away (before or after) from the AB - Jax was on s boulardii regularly already so I gave him half a capsule (rather than his maintenance dose of a quarter capsule) twice a day while he was on clindamycin and his stool remained normal.
Butters gets Innate Probiotics 1/4 capsule q12 and 1/8 capsule S. Boulardii, so today I increased to 1/2 capsule and 1/6 capsule respectively.:joyful:
I remember when Jax got clindamycin following his dental. I had planned to ask the vet for it in the event that he offered up a different antibiotic. But he knew it is the one to use for oral infections. It is liquid in a glass bottle that comes with a dropper. I squirted it into her mouth using a syringe. I can't check the brand because Butters is on my lap:cat:. But the solution doesn't have any sugar ingredient in it that I could identify.
Sorry about her BG...I'm sure you'll use your tools to help that
You know it.:joyful: I'm so sloooooow to decrease but I'll take those increases at lightning speed.:smuggrin:
Poor Butters. I hope the medicine kicks in soon but it will take a few days I suspect. Is she eating ok? I’d give her a couple cycles before increasing unless she’s sky high tonight (for her) wait until the morning.
Eating great so far. Her appetite never waned over the past few days.
I will find some patience pants and see what happens. Hopefully it is just a little blip.
 
Poor Butters. That Clindamycin liquid (antirobe aquadrops?) tastes awful. One of our members actually tried it. :p Glad you upped the probiotics, personal experience with Clindamycin is as indicated. I hope it works to wipe out whatever is causing the swelling.
 
Last edited:
Poor Butters. That Clindamycin liquid (antirobe aquadrops?) tastes awful. One of our members actually tried it. :p Glad you upped the probiotics, personal experience with Clindamycin six dit’s indicated. I hope it works to wipe out whatever is causing the swelling.
I feel so sorry for her. Hopefully it works. If not I worry about what the swelling could be. Something more serious I guess.
Lol I'm not going to try it but yes that's the one. Antirobe aquadrops. I put it in the fridge hoping it won't taste as bad if it is cold.
 
Probiotics
Oh good, I'm glad you are on it :bighug: I stalked your SS for a good bit looking for this info but I must be rusty :joyful: I even checked the world tab :p
So I think Marje told me to do this but then I read the box and it said to keep at room temp. IDK :joyful:. Jax tolerated them at room temp. I did the drops first and then his pills and a shot of water (fun times all around:p).
 
Good luck Butters! I hope the ABX helps to clear everything up.

I now so wish that they could put all antibiotics in injectable form. Injection? No problem! Pill or drops? I've lost a limb.

Fingers crossed for you both!!
 
Clindamycin is the same as Augmentin in humans. Having taken this myself, I can say that it gave me massive heartburn/pain in my stomach :-( and I always took it with food. I was glad when I was finished with it.

I'm so sorry to hear this about Butters. It is so strange that the inflammation in her face is moving around? I don't get it. I hope the antibiotic will help her though and that she will eat. I have had lots of cats on Antirobe (clindamycin), especially for dental problems or pre-dental cleanings/extractions. They always seemed to take it just fine. One thing that I will get on my soap box about though is that there is documented evidence in the veterinary literature of "Clindamycin-induced esophageal injury" so ALWAYS make sure when giving clindamycin that Butters eats something afterwards, just enough to make sure the pill goes down! I know you are experienced and probably always make sure to never "dry pill" a cat, but I always mention this with people... like I said it is a "thing" with me. That is because I have seen a cat who had just such an esophageal injury. It was not pretty to behold and she really couldn't eat food without gagging/vomiting. So now you know why I get worked up about it. Most vets dry pill cats all the time though!
 
Oh and you already know that pain raises BG so I know you will be on top of that.

Oh, and my little Tinkerbelle just finished a course of liquid clindamycin (yes, to be stored at room temp) and it was CHERRY flavored. It tastes awful. I can't believe Tinkerbelle is so nice she just took it and then ate her dinner.
 
Good luck Butters! I hope the ABX helps to clear everything up.

I now so wish that they could put all antibiotics in injectable form. Injection? No problem! Pill or drops? I've lost a limb.

Fingers crossed for you both!!
I agree with you about the injectable form. Susie has a swallowing problem that has yet to be determined but I am not going to ever shove pills down her throat.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy I have the clindamycin drops for Butters and they smell awful. It's a fight to get them into her, of course. I would never dry pill her but it's always good to remind people.:)
Oh good, I'm glad you are on it :bighug: I stalked your SS for a good bit looking for this info but I must be rusty :joyful: I even checked the world tab :p
It's coded.:joyful: Lol. I added a line to her ss and wrote "Started PB", I think it was, the day I started them. I can't remember if I ever replaced PB with probiotic. I'm guessing not or you would've found it. So you are not rusty. I forgot to put it at the top of her ss.:bighug:

I took the drops out of the fridge. Oh well. It will be a fight with Butters regardless. I gave her a little water with some of the juices from her raw food mixed in to help cleanse her palate.


I think I'm seeing a little upward trend in her numbers. But I will hold the current dose regardless of what number I see overnight and @AMPS tomorrow.
 
Yesterday

Butters's vet saw her first thing this morning. He could see the swelling in her face (including one eye almost completely swollen shut today), but upon inspecting inside her mouth, there was nothing that jumped out at him. He could hear the congestion and said it is in her nasal passages and he thinks it is likely related to the swelling. He wasn't sure why the swelling was "moving around". On Saturday, her lower lip was huge. Today, one of her eyes is huge as is her upper lip.:confused:

That aside, he said the swelling could be from something going on in her mouth below the gumline, maybe an abscessed tooth that he can't see. He can't be sure without xrays etc and that would be the next step, except she cannot have anesthesia at the moment as per her cardiologist. :blackeye: So he ordered a 7-day course of clindamycin and said if there is an oral infection, that should take care of it and buy us some time until her cardiology appointment in mid-July.

We got home from the vet @AM+3.5 and Butters's BG was 85. I gave her the first dose of clindamycin @+4 and now her BG is 122. :( I am positive it doesn't have sugar in it, so what gives?
I am thinking if she stays >100 that I will increase tonight. If not tonight, then tomorrow morning for sure. She has already been bobbling around in the blues for a few days now and I remember how quickly her numbers got away from me last time.

Surf safely, kitties:cat: Have a good day, all.
Hi Lyla, you and Butters have been going through a real rough patch, I am so sorry. I hope the meds help whatever is going on in her little body. Sending healing prayers and healing hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I agree with you about the injectable form. Susie has a swallowing problem that has yet to be determined but I am not going to ever shove pills down her throat.
Oh @Summer and Susie ... they do make most antibiotics in injectable form but they only usually give those at the vet and they usually last about 24 hours so you would have to go back to the vet every day for an injections (I have known vets to give people things like injectable Cerenia when they needed to use it every day and their cat couldn't take the pill.) I am sorry that Susie still is having swallowing problems. I wish that would heal up. I want to suggest trying Slippery Elm Bark "tea" but I'm NOT going to suggest anything right now... since you really don't know what is going on there. Does she just gulp a lot? I have a kitty who purrs SO MUCH that he will make himself either, choke and cough, gulp down all the excess saliva that seems to come when they purr a lot... or, he will actually make himself regurgitate some food. He's a crazy purrer! But I should have put this in your condo. Sorry, Lyla!
 
Oh @Summer and Susie ... they do make most antibiotics in injectable form but they only usually give those at the vet and they usually last about 24 hours so you would have to go back to the vet every day for an injections (I have known vets to give people things like injectable Cerenia when they needed to use it every day and their cat couldn't take the pill.) I am sorry that Susie still is having swallowing problems. I wish that would heal up. I want to suggest trying Slippery Elm Bark "tea" but I'm NOT going to suggest anything right now... since you really don't know what is going on there. Does she just gulp a lot? I have a kitty who purrs SO MUCH that he will make himself either, choke and cough, gulp down all the excess saliva that seems to come when they purr a lot... or, he will actually make himself regurgitate some food. He's a crazy purrer! But I should have put this in your condo. Sorry, Lyla!
This is why I like the convenia. An injection that last 10 - 14 days (and maybe longer). Susie doesn't have any eating problems that I can see. She just swallows a lot from time to time although I haven't noticed her doing it much anymore. I'll have to look into the slippery elm bark tea. Poor kitty who purrs so much. Sorry, Lyla. Just wanted to recognize Susanne's comment.
 
Hi Lyla, I hope the AB helps with the swelling ,poor Butters
I just feel awful for her, enough is enough
Just. Looked at your SS for today Thurs nice to see that green.
Praying for the swelling to go away ♥:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh and you already know that pain raises BG so I know you will be on top of that.
:p
Oh, and my little Tinkerbelle just finished a course of liquid clindamycin (yes, to be stored at room temp) and it was CHERRY flavored. It tastes awful. I can't believe Tinkerbelle is so nice she just took it and then ate her dinner.
Just a note to say, I taste all of Dolly’s meds first, it’s compounded into sugar free chicken flavor :p it is always the nastiest bitter flavor ever, poor kitty. :(
 
Back
Top