05/18 Rory AM 302, +3 202, +6 133, +9 263

Status
Not open for further replies.

Var-ee and Rory

Member Since 2013
my slacking in reporting is bad.. Rory is same as usual he has a hollow leg, I cant believe how much he is eating.. I do add some water to all his food now also so he is getting water... seems to be sensitive to the needle lately but I think its a big act because he cry's before the needle touches him :shock:

thanks to everyone who is stopping by and chatting.... YES Wendy, I do use a Polysporin with heal fast.. I have to be careful with it because he tries to clean his ears and I notice they are getting greesy at the back... I use only a tiny amount too.. and dab them with a kleenex after hoping it will prevent more oily icky gooey mess

I also think it seems weird every time I increase his dose that it's the same routine.. stays the same numbers.. but I was wondering if anyone knows of a Bovine insulin instead of this synthetic kind.. I dont think its working out well...and I read a good article on all the differences and its about the amino acids.... bovine only has one which is better for cats
http://www.bcpvetpharm.com/products_bovine.htm

GMO Insulin
http://diabeteshealth.com/read/2007/07/17/5316/lantus-and-levemir--whats-the-difference/

condo http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=95383
 
Hi Var-ee, I'm not sure if the PZI is available in Canada. In the US I believe it's compounded. Of the insulins we recommend here, Lantus and Levemir are what's available. I think it's a bit early to say Lantus isn't working for Rory.

Looking at Rory's SS, I think you held his 1.75 dose a bit long. That can lead to glucose toxicity. The protocol says:
Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
You are seeing nadirs below 200 which is a good thing. You need to keep following the protocol on increases until Rory finds his good dose. But you don't want to increase if he is bouncing. If you aren't certain about when to increase, feel free to post and ask the question.

Feline diabetes does teach patience on waiting for the right dose. My Neko has a high dose condition, and it took 6 months to get to where we started earning deductions. I'm not saying Rory will take that long, he's getting to blue much lower in dose than Neko did, but I can sympathize with how frustrating the waiting can be.

You say that Rory is always hungry. How much are you feeding him? Unregulated diabetics can be quite hungry. You might want to weigh him every week or so to make sure he's not losing weight. If he is, then he needs more food. Once he gets better regulated, he'll be less hungry.
 
Re: 05/18 Rory AM 302, +3 202, +6 133, +9 263, PM 353, +2 32

he eats about 3-4 cans of wet food every day.. fancy feast size, and a can of Tuna.. he is a very large, long cat.. and he has lost weight but he was fat and now looks healthy.

so he was less than 200 today so happy to see it

No we dont get PZI here unless we apply to Health Canada for it.. then get a Vet to fill out a consent form.. that is the problem. I will have to shop for a Vet willing to I guess :/
if there is a day needed, but I will take your word for it.. I would rather not switch unless it is totally necessary

Rory was quite active today and it was nice to see, the weather helps :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top