05/15/18 Squallie AMPS 71, +2/66, +4/51, +6/57, +10/59, PMPS 69/65/61, +5/79

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squalliesmom

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

My poor Lil' Bear isn't feeling very good. :( I think his teeth are really bothering him. He's pawing at his mouth every time he eats, and he's spent the last two days curled up in a dark corner of the living room. He doesn't sit with me any more, and he won't come to my room at night and sleep on the bed with me. I can only assume he is miserable. I don't want this to be his quality of life (or lack thereof). He deserves so much more. I don't know what to do. I am going to ask the vet for pain meds (he's never suggested them, so not certain what he thinks of them), and see if he thinks another round of ABs would help. If anybody has any other suggestions please weigh in! My baby needs lots of help, now.
 
Oh Lucy :( .

I take it a dental is off the cards for the stripey man for some reason. I seem to remember that is the case.

Maybe the vet can manage a half-dental somehow.

Yup. He needs pain meds then IMVHO & strong ABs
 
I see he is 19 years old, is that why he can't have dental work done? Poor baby, I'm sorry you both are going through this. Many hugs and vines sent your way.
 
Oh Lucy :( .

I take it a dental is off the cards for the stripey man for some reason. I seem to remember that is the case.

Maybe the vet can manage a half-dental somehow.

Yup. He needs pain meds then IMVHO & strong ABs
Thanks, M! :bighug::bighug::bighug: Yup, no dental, due to age and heart murmur. My vet thinks anesthesia would be dangerous for him. The dental specialist seems to think it would be fine, but that's because it's $2,500-in-his-pocket-fine!
 
Thanks, Paula. :bighug::bighug::bighug: I know you know what I'm going through, you've been there, too. FORLS is a terrible disease, isn't it?

It is, especially when no vet would do anything because they are to high risk. Try to take it easy, one day at a time. Maybe some pain meds might help. Ask about gabapentin, it might help.
 
Squallie didn't get a shot again tonight. Since he's having appy issues, I don't trust him to eat hi-carb food if he drops too low. He's had an awful lot of No-Shots lately. He just had a dose reduction; should I maybe reduce it again?
 
As far as pain raising BG, ECID.
Squallie didn't get a shot again tonight. Since he's having appy issues, I don't trust him to eat hi-carb food if he drops too low. He's had an awful lot of No-Shots lately. He just had a dose reduction; should I maybe reduce it again?
He is staying in good numbers even with the skipped shot. It can't hurt to try reducing the dose until his appy issues improve. You can always go back up if his numbers start going up. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
As far as pain raising BG, ECID.

He is staying in good numbers even with the skipped shot. It can't hurt to try reducing the dose until his appy issues improve. You can always go back up if his numbers start going up. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks, Carla. He was 132 this AM after no shot last night. If he starts staying low again I may try just that. He got his shot this morning, but he only ate about a half-dozen bites of food, and if he drops too low I can't count on being able to get him to eat to bring his BG back up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top