05/14 Dude AMPS 254, +3 169, +7 164 - hold @ 0.25?

jmichaelp

Member Since 2024
Dude ate ate 5g of Purina DM at both +5.5 & +6, so that probably elevated his BG a little. Previous +7 readings were: 173 (AMPS 1 unit), 84 (AMPS 0.5), 100 (AMPS 0.25), 164(AMPS 0.25). I'd assume hold at 0.25 units but want to confirm. Thanks.
 
Here is your previous post
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...7-100-pmps-141-do-i-feed.289965/#post-3178895
Please start linking your previous days post to your new post each day in case members need to go back to read something, so they won't have to go searching for it :cat:

As you were told in yesterday's post you did
Stick with the 0.25 unit dose. When following SLGS, you stay with a dose for 7 days, unless another reduction is earned by going under 90. Which he hasn't yet.

Mike I know you have very bad back problems but is there any way you can at least get one more test in after Dude's PMPS number
He could be dropping lower at night and you will miss it, especially if he drops under 90

With SLGS after one week you should actually do a 12 hour curve
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet.The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
  • @jmichaelp
 
Last edited:
This is the start of day 2 of 7 at this dose. Unless he goes below 90 again.

It's encouraging to see he's seeing numbers in the 100's at this dose.
 
Here is your previous post
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...7-100-pmps-141-do-i-feed.289965/#post-3178895
Please start linking your previous days post to your new post each day in case members need to go back to read something, so they won't have to go searching for it :cat:

As you were told in yesterday's post you did
Stick with the 0.25 unit dose. When following SLGS, you stay with a dose for 7 days, unless another reduction is earned by going under 90. Which he hasn't yet.

Mike I know you have very bad back problems but is there any way you can at least get one more test in after Dude's PMPS number
He could be dropping lower at night and you will miss it, especially if he drops under 90

With SLGS after one week you should actually do a 12 hour curve
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet.The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
  • @jmichaelp
Thanks, I know I just want to make sure.
 
Any chance you could get a test a couple hours after PMPS? A before bed test? Many cats go lower at night. And sometimes cats will go high before diving low.
 
Any chance you could get a test a couple hours after PMPS? A before bed test? Many cats go lower at night. And sometimes cats will go high before diving low.
Thanks for the suggestion, if the opportunity presents itself I'll try. My back is once again at the breaking point. Last night I felt I couldn't go on without jeopardizing my ability to take care of myself, yet here I am trying again this morning.

Dude has a AMPS of 306. He did eat 6g of Purina DM ≈ 30 minutes prior. There's no telling if he ate any from the other cat's bowl (still Hill's k/d) last night. I leave that out, it's familiar food in a familiar location - he must start eating on his own.

With a 0.25 unit dose, I have no idea whether I'm dosing any insulin half the time. I've experimented countless times with calipers to create the dose using Uticare U-100 syringes. When I review the bubble of insulin at the end of the needle, 40% have a large or even extra-large amount, 40% a medium & 20% very small, if even enough to do anything. I don't know if it's manufacturing tolerances or me. I do know that a couple of times that when preparing the syringe, I have brushed the plunger & apparently expressed all of the insulin from it, so I always double-check.
 
Back
Top