05/13 Dude AMPS 249, +7 100, PMPS 141 - do I feed?

jmichaelp

Member
So he didn't earn a reduction today. He was at 0.25 dose this morning, based on yesterday's +7 reading of 84, but 0.5 previously. Does this mean he goes back to the 0.5 tonight? Thank you.
 
Stick with the 0.25 unit dose. When following SLGS, you stay with a dose for 7 days, unless another reduction is earned by going under 90. Which he hasn't yet.
 
Dude ate his 1st non-syringe fed food in weeks. Probably an hour before the PMPS reading (141). Should I syringe feed him after his insulin dose or let him graze the Purina DM when he wants it? He has been fighting me with syringe-feeding the last 2 days. I'll be continuing at 0.25 dose as advised. Thanks.
 
Last edited:
If he will eat on his own, that would be great! If he doesn't eat, you want to syringe feed a little food so that he has some on board at the time of onset of insulin.

Is this Purina DM dry? That is high carb.
 
If he will eat on his own, that would be great! If he doesn't eat, you want to syringe feed a little food so that he has some on board at the time of onset of insulin.

Is this Purina DM dry? That is high carb.
Yes, Purina DM dry. That's what the vet gave me to feed him. I thought it was for diabetic cats? I'll give him some syringe-fed food as well.
 
Yes, Purina DM dry. That's what the vet gave me to feed him. I thought it was for diabetic cats?
Many vets will push prescription diets but they are expensive and not even low carb. Purina DM canned is low carb but the dry and DM Savory Selects are not! There's nothing actual prescription or special about DM that treats diabetes. No medicines, no special ingredient that helps reduce blood sugar, etc. It's just a low carb canned food, sold through the vet for more money. The most important thing about feeding your diabetic cat is that they eat. We've found that a lot of cats don't like the taste of DM or get bored of it.

If Dude is a kibble addict, there are low carb options in dry food as well – Young Again, Dr. Elsey’s Cleanprotein and Wysong Epigen 90. However, if you can transition him to a low carb canned or raw diet, that would be great.
 
Many vets will push prescription diets but they are expensive and not even low carb. Purina DM canned is low carb but the dry and DM Savory Selects are not! There's nothing actual prescription or special about DM that treats diabetes. No medicines, no special ingredient that helps reduce blood sugar, etc. It's just a low carb canned food, sold through the vet for more money. The most important thing about feeding your diabetic cat is that they eat. We've found that a lot of cats don't like the taste of DM or get bored of it.

If Dude is a kibble addict, there are low carb options in dry food as well – Young Again, Dr. Elsey’s Cleanprotein and Wysong Epigen 90. However, if you can transition him to a low carb canned or raw diet, that would be great.
Thanks for that list. He won't touch wet food. Those dry foods (and I guess most) don't have a lot of fat. Since Dude is CKD as well, I'd like to get more calories from fat so less comes from protein & very little from carbs. I found a study which showed that cats in the wild get 46% of their calories from fat. I've been trying to get closer to that amount with the FF Pate by adding a tiny bit of fat. I guess I peruse the food lists to see if any fit the bill. Thank you.
 
Those dry foods (and I guess most) don't have a lot of fat. Since Dude is CKD as well, I'd like to get more calories from fat so less comes from protein & very little from carbs.
Young Again and Dr. Elsey's have provided detailed nutritional info on their websites.
 
Back
Top