Re: 05/12 Tray's AMPS 450 Getting worried-help
So long as you are testing for ketones as often as you can, and getting negative results, you can be relieved for that much.
The dose increases are slow and painful; I can relate as can everyone else. You want to snap your fingers, to be able to have someone pull a magic number out of a hat and say here, here's the magic amount for your kitty. If someone is ever able to do that, they should bottle it to become an instant billionaire.
OK, tonite is cycle6 and the numbers still look crappy, high and flat is something that may be saying Tray needs a bit more insulin. It's hard to say all that much because there are few numbers near mid cycle, or spots between Tray's ps so you can't see how Tray is reacting to this dose. What if Tray is dropping to low numbers and bouncing back up? What if he is just staying flat flat flat? Two different scenarios which tell you two different things.
Anyways, some cats take all the way to that 6th shot before the increased dose kicks in and you start to see some changes; others, react sooner. Is there any chances of catching more tests between shots? I work Mon to Fri so during the week I can't do much until the evenings. Then on the weekends, I can do some curves. One thing I have learned is that there is no such thing as too much data! Every extra test number you add to Tray's sheet contributes greatly to a good interpretation.
So, putting the numbers aside for a bit, how is Tray doing lately? In many cases, you will see improvements in the kitty before you see changes on the ss. Look to how Tray is acting now and eating and all the rest and see if Tray is slowly improving. The numbers will come later, honest.
The dose guys will be able to tell you what is needed for Tray.
Always know that the pats and scratches and kind words must be applied along with the insulin shots to speed up Tray's changes ;-)