05/12 Tray's AMPS 450 +11=362 PMPS 380 +1=358

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 05/12 Tray's AMPS 450 Getting worried-help

ARG! I'm trying to open your ss link but it wont open!

hopefully someone else will have a look see...what I wanted to do is check your ss for ketone testing, that was really my only suggestion, to keep at that.

And also, I know you may of heard this already, and its gonna sound like a broken record, just a little patience, ok?
Hang in there - I totally know how this feel, been there, done that.

We'll see what others have for feedback thru the day, if you are able to post a +11, just before you're due for PMPS that would be great, just give a reminder in your main subject line "DOSE Q" something like that.
 
Re: 05/12 Tray's AMPS 450 Getting worried-help

He's tested negative for ketones everytime I tested him. (last time was just before bed yesterday).
He seems happy, eating playing purring.
I'll get the +11 tonight
 
Re: 05/12 Tray's AMPS 450 Getting worried-help

So long as you are testing for ketones as often as you can, and getting negative results, you can be relieved for that much.

The dose increases are slow and painful; I can relate as can everyone else. You want to snap your fingers, to be able to have someone pull a magic number out of a hat and say here, here's the magic amount for your kitty. If someone is ever able to do that, they should bottle it to become an instant billionaire.

OK, tonite is cycle6 and the numbers still look crappy, high and flat is something that may be saying Tray needs a bit more insulin. It's hard to say all that much because there are few numbers near mid cycle, or spots between Tray's ps so you can't see how Tray is reacting to this dose. What if Tray is dropping to low numbers and bouncing back up? What if he is just staying flat flat flat? Two different scenarios which tell you two different things.

Anyways, some cats take all the way to that 6th shot before the increased dose kicks in and you start to see some changes; others, react sooner. Is there any chances of catching more tests between shots? I work Mon to Fri so during the week I can't do much until the evenings. Then on the weekends, I can do some curves. One thing I have learned is that there is no such thing as too much data! Every extra test number you add to Tray's sheet contributes greatly to a good interpretation.

So, putting the numbers aside for a bit, how is Tray doing lately? In many cases, you will see improvements in the kitty before you see changes on the ss. Look to how Tray is acting now and eating and all the rest and see if Tray is slowly improving. The numbers will come later, honest.

The dose guys will be able to tell you what is needed for Tray.
Always know that the pats and scratches and kind words must be applied along with the insulin shots to speed up Tray's changes ;-)
 
Re: 05/12 Tray's AMPS 450 Getting worried-help

I work all day and I'm in catering so many times its run home after being in the office all day then run out at night.
I do my best to get bg tests I do curves on Sunday.

Tray is spoiled for love and he's doing well, he's happy and playful
 
Re: 05/12 Tray's AMPS 450 Getting worried-help

Gayle is right--LOOK AT THE WHOLE CAT! not just the numbers--Is he doing things he did before he got sick? is he a little more active? Is he responding well to you & family? Doing the 5 P's-purring, pooping, peeing, playing & preening himself?
Please dont get discouraged--Moonie's new doses usually kick in at the last minute of the 6th cycle, so wait a bit to see how today goes...
Hope the numbers come down for you today--Do not raise the dose without the advice of our dosing helpers.OK?
Wishing you a good wednesday..You are doing well so far :-D
 
Re: 05/12 Tray's AMPS 450 Getting worried-help

he does seem in very good health and good spirits. Even more social than before so I suppose I should look at this as glass half full. I am so happy I have somewhere to vent now and that you all put up with it.

THANK YOU
 
Re: 05/12 Tray's AMPS 450 Getting worried-help

It sucks to be away so much, but awesome to hear that Tray is happy and doing well!
You are for sure not alone with juggling work and fitting kitty needs in the plan, but it gets done all the same! Sunday curves are fine I think. Once you find Tray's good dose, you will start to see lots more improvement in his numbers.
Many times, the kitties have had the high numbers so long that they 'think' the high numbers are the right numbers. Then when they get the shots that bring them down into the 'real right' numbers, they are like OMG this is so wrong! I need to get back to the right numbers!
Bit by bit, they will get more used to those lower numbers and will start to think "hey, these are not so bad after all! I am feeling pretty good now!"

They just seem to take so long to get there!
Watch for those little things that Tray used to do, way back when. I can't tell you how often I have seen others saying something like "he hasn't done that in so long!" It's a treat when you see those little improvements and it is THEN that you will forget all about those stupid numbers, cuz Tray is looking better and better!

Pats and scratches for Tray!
 
Re: 05/12 Tray's AMPS 450 Getting worried-help

Hi and just some support for you and Tray. I hope his #'s come down today and you get some dose help soon.
 
Re: 05/12 Tray's AMPS 450 Getting worried-help

My guess is that you will need to increase Tray's dose. You're doing a great job of getting checks in the PM cycle and if I had to guess, I don't think he's dropping low at mid-cycle and bouncing. Since this evening will be cycle 6, stick with your current dose and if the cycle looks pretty much the same, I think there's room to increase tomorrow. With the nadir in the 200s, you'd increase by 0.25u according to the protocol.

Hang in there. This really does take patience.
 
Re: 05/12 Tray's AMPS 450 Getting worried-help

It can be incredibly frustrating as you're going up the dosing scale. However, hang in there. Some cats simply need more. He WILL respond at some point. Take a look at the spreadsheets of some people that are going through the same thing as you - it helps.
 
Re: 05/12 Tray's AMPS 450 Getting worried-help

Boo said:
It can be incredibly frustrating as you're going up the dosing scale. However, hang in there. Some cats simply need more. He WILL respond at some point. Take a look at the spreadsheets of some people that are going through the same thing as you - it helps.

Hi
Thought I would drop by and show you a spreadsheet that hopefully will make you feel better.
I had a very hard time with Max and started at 1u and went all the way to 6u.
Max has been off insulin since April 3 and his OTJ party was on the 16th.
Click on the links in my signature. :-D
Hang in.
 
Re: 05/12 Tray's AMPS 450 Getting worried-help

Bless you Randi!
Someone mentioned I should look at your SS but I couldn't find you.

It's so nice to see my cat isn't some freak case and others have had to go thru this.

Thank you all so much for keeping me sane.
 
Re: 05/12 Tray's AMPS 450 Getting worried-help

Hard to find me easily I think because I don't have a regular condo anymore but I am still around the board. :-D
I think Max has become the "poster cat" for all those "newbies" struggling with higher numbers and dose increases.

ECID, every cat is different but as long as I can give hope to others than that's what I am going to do.
It is lots of hard work and tears and smiles and joy.
Go with it. It is Tray's sugar dance and your job is to follow his lead.
 
Re: 05/12 Tray's AMPS 450 Getting worried-help

JUST WANTED TO STOP BY AND OFFER SUPPORT!!!! Scrabble just recently went otj (Sunday) and I was so frustrated in the beginning but everyone on here kept telling me to be patient. I know it is hard because you just want your cat to be better but like everyone else said look at the whole cat! You are doing great!!! Hope the dosecrease will help!!!
 
Re: 05/12 Tray's AMPS 450 +11=362 PMPS 380 DOSE advice

Thank you everyone.
Tray was at 362 +11 and 380 at PMPS so I am thinking a .25 increase is due, yes?
 
Re: 05/12 Tray's AMPS 450 +11=362 PMPS 380 DOSE advice

Yes, I would raise dose by 0.25u. Paws crossed for some better numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top