05/10 Boomer AMPS 304 +3 256 +6 167 PMPS 191 +3 277, photos

Judy and Boomer

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
Good morning!
AMPS 304 shooting 2.25u
Apparently he's bouncing from coming down from yellow a couple of days ago :rolleyes: Meanwhile we're going away on Sunday and normally I would reduce his dose today.

Boomer ate most of his overnight food leaving about a tsp. I don't think the cartrophen is helping him yet; he's still having issues jumping. But it's only been a couple of weeks (4 doses) so perhaps it's too soon.

I have two photos to post today: one is of a Common Yellowthroat Warbler taken at Point Pelee on Monday. The second was taken at my local pond with a very cooperative Blue Jay...I called it "Self Conscious" aka "Does this outfit make my ass look big?" lol :smuggrin:
 

Attachments

  • Common Yellowthroat Warbler.jpg
    Common Yellowthroat Warbler.jpg
    174.2 KB · Views: 59
  • Self Conscious.jpg
    Self Conscious.jpg
    106.9 KB · Views: 56
I hope the cartrophen starts working soon, poor Boomer. :bighug: I guess ECID but did they give you any idea of how long it might take?

Beautiful pictures, blue jays are so vain! lol
 
Hi Judy,
We got back from NYC a couple of days ago (Wagner's "Ring" cycle at the Metropolitan OPera was grand) and I see that Deputy Boomer is bouncing. Come on, Boomer, let's get back on track!
Great photos today. I missed seeing your bird photos while we were away. We don't have wi-fi in the city and I maxed out on my cellular data while streaming the Barr hearings!
I hope Boomer cooperates while you are away. Have a good trip.
 
Oh, Boomer...pink is not a good color on a kitty!!

When I used Adequan (the US "version" of catrophen) with a couple of our kitties, it did take about a month (the loading dose timeframe) to really see the results. After that, I could tell when they needed a boost (usually every 3-4 weeks), and those "booster" shots would kick in within a couple hours.

As always, beautiful bird photos!!
 
I hope Boomer comes down today!

Have you noticed any upset stomach with the cartrophen? I gave Max his first dose of adequan last night and he’s pukey and had some diarrhea this morning. I’m hoping we don’t have this every time he gets a dose.
 
Hi Judy,
We got back from NYC a couple of days ago (Wagner's "Ring" cycle at the Metropolitan OPera was grand) and I see that Deputy Boomer is bouncing. Come on, Boomer, let's get back on track!
Great photos today. I missed seeing your bird photos while we were away. We don't have wi-fi in the city and I maxed out on my cellular data while streaming the Barr hearings!
I hope Boomer cooperates while you are away. Have a good trip.
@Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) happy to hear you had a good trip! You know how I've never photographed a Loon....look what I got....so very happy!
 

Attachments

  • Common Loon.jpg
    Common Loon.jpg
    193.7 KB · Views: 55
Oh, Boomer...pink is not a good color on a kitty!!

When I used Adequan (the US "version" of catrophen) with a couple of our kitties, it did take about a month (the loading dose timeframe) to really see the results. After that, I could tell when they needed a boost (usually every 3-4 weeks), and those "booster" shots would kick in within a couple hours.

As always, beautiful bird photos!!
Thanks Amy; I thought it would probably take a few weeks to have an effect. He's on 2 doses weekly for 4 weeks then 1 dose weekly for 4 weeks then monthly after that.
 
Well I wasn't sure what to do. PMPS 191. I'm sure he'll bounce but I can't guarantee it. And we will be leaving around +4.5 on Sunday. So I reduced back down to 2.0u.
 
Thanks Ella! I believe it's a juvenile.
Very interesting. I have read that juveniles stay on the Atlantic ocean coasts for about 4 or 5 years after they have been born before they return, fully mature, to their breeding areas--fresh-water lakes. This loon has adult breeding plumage, but the head is oddly mottled. I'm going to ask the loon expert in Saranac Lake. I'll let you know what she says.
 
Back
Top