? 05/08 Kitty PMPS 171 +2 111 +3 74 +4 71

Not sure if having a slight bounce today or if its the decreased dose. She had a bounce at the end of the second cycle after her last reduction, so maybe the same thing is happening now.

I wanted to ask a question about changing wet foods. I want to transition her to Sheba Premium Pates. According to the cat food database, the Sheba Premium Pates have similar nutritional profiles as Fancy Feast Classic Pates, but I noticed that the Sheba pates have considerably less phosphorus. FF is in 300 - 400 range while Sheba is in the 200s. I'm not sure why this is, but it seems that the Sheba pates do not use by-products like the Fancy Feast pates do, so perhaps the Sheba pates have less bones ground up in them. I like the fact that they don't list any by-products as ingredients in the Sheba pates. Kitty doesn't have kidney issues, but I see many members discussing it here and Kitty is turning 10 years old this August and from what I understand, older cats don't need as much phosphorus, so I'd like to proactively reduce it in her diet. So I started tonight by giving her Sheba for her first (preshot) meal, and I put FF in the auto feeder as usual for the other two meals. I'm going to do this for a couple days, and then switch a second meal to Sheba for a couple days, and then finally the third meal will be switched. Does this seem like an okay transition? I don't want to do it too quickly and upset her stomach or anything like that. The Sheba pates have very similar ingredients to FF so I'm not all that concerned. My vet told me that cats don't need a slow transition to new foods, as long as they are consuming enough calories its safe to switch the food, but I know how many of us take what our vets say with a grain of salt.
 
Back
Top