05/06 Tray's AMPS 367 PMPS 371 +1=265 Dose help

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 05/06 Tray's AMPS 367 Back in the pinks

HI Sarah,
I don't think I've said Hello before, so hello and welcome to lantus land!!!

Looks like tonight was your 7th cycle at 2U and despite the few spot checks (not judging, just stating), it is not very likely that you are missing blue or even green cycles.... Tonight, if you come back on the board, pls add the word "dose" to your subject line for people to help you in the decision to amend Tray's dose per the protocol.... looks to me like an increase is due... what do you think?

ANd.... while you don't need it.... do you have a few cans of high carb (18%) of food in your house already? Easier to purchase some when you don't need them :) Janet and Binky's list can help you choose the kinds you think Tray would like... I get the fancy feast grilled variety, but it doesn't matter really as long as Tray likes it. Mark the can with a Sharpie pen and keep them separate. If you knew this already, just ignore me.

Again, Welcome!
 
Re: 05/06 Tray's AMPS 367 PMPS 371 +1265 Dose

thank you for the welcome Helene.
Well now he's at 265 an hour after his pm dose. I have a question for you and for anyone else who might be able to chime in. I find when I shoot him on the left side I get better results. Has anyone else found that one side works better than another, or am I just crazy?

Any dose advice would be very welcome as well.
 
Hi Iorwen & Tray, I'm sorry that I don't feel qualified to help you with dose advice (others will be along to do that), but I wanted to welcome you and Tray to Lantus Land. With regard to your question about which side to shoot, I don't think it should make a difference. I think other factors are involved (day or evening cycle, food spikes, bounces, type of foods, etc. etc.). There is a lot going on with Feline Diabetes and much of it is tricky to come to terms with. Hang in there and keep on observing how things affect your kitty. Eventually you will see patterns (or, you may not!). Cat rules!!

Ella & Stu
 
Hi again,
I'm no expert, however, what I undertand from insulin is that slow acting insulin such as lantus and levemir the injection shot may not be as important as with a faster acting insulin. So shooting the side may allow the onset to be slighly faster, but I don't think we're talking little minutes there. My experience has been that lantus likes constancy.... and I needed to be able to shoot alone while sitting on the cat (at first)... so I chose to shoot between the shoulders (no quite the scruff, a touch lower) and I shoot not the same spot but the same general area. I think, again, just my own opinion, that it helped with keeping the onset of the insulin relatively the same.... operative word being relatively!
Also, I learn to shoot and count.... one-kitty-kitty-two-kitty-kitty-three-kitty-kitty before removing the needle from the injection site allowing the insulin to exit the syringe slower than the speed of light... :lol: whether that did anything, i'll never proove it!
I hope this helped.
 
I think Helene is on target -- you could bring Tray's dose up to 2.25. Since it will take at least one cycle for the shed to fill, this will bring you to the weekend and you can get the checks in to see how that dose is doing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top