05/06 Simke AMPS 599

Status
Not open for further replies.

Simke

Member Since 2013
He looks good again, although not eating as well only had a 1/4 can for breakfast. Gave him a small 1 unit today ( going to buy a magnifier) as I really struggle with the dosing. ( last night at +7 he was 571)
 
Good morning Simone.
Come on Simke, sweetie, munch up your breffis, please.
It's difficult for me to see those goofy lines on syringes also. Some of the people use calipers to measure the dose and they really like them.. It eliminates the fudge factor in the syringe markings. FWIW. I took a syringe to Walgreens, put on my regular glasses and then tried different cheaters on top of them until i found one that let me see the lines clearly.
Have a good day and i hope he clears that bounce quickly.
hugs and scritches from us
 
I think the dose is supposed to be 0.75u, not a skinny 1.0u. When a cat BG numbers drop below 40, you need to give the full 0.25u reduction in dose. That drop meant business! The photo below will give you an idea of how to measure. The photo is of 0.25u. You'll just need to translate this to having the plunger lined up between 1.0 and 0.5u.
025unit-1.jpg


Also, we link our threads from one day to the next together. This makes it easier if you have to go back and find information. Here's Simke's condo from yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=94707
 
I had a feeling that he'd be up there today due to the syrup and the food that was given to bring him up. He certainly didn't disappoint. Just remember that this too shall pass. He may lay around for a bit because of these higher #s, but over time, and a whole lot of patience his #s will come down, and he'll start feeling like his old self again.

I hear ya about the dosing. Using a magnifying glass will certainly help you. My eyesight isn't as good as it used to be, either. I have a very large magnifying glass that I use on occasion.
 
Re: 05/06 Simke AMPS 599 +4 418

On the demonstration one it shows 10 lines on mine there is only has five on one side five on the other. DUH! I did only give him one yesterday because the first whole section is only five so today my Am was .5 augh, what shall I do now?
 
If you are using syringes that are marked in half unit increments, each line is 0.5u. When the marks are on both sides, the half unit is on one side and the full unit is on the other.
 
When I was starting to give insulin to my cat and was changing the dose fairly often, I actually made a big diagram in the notebook I was using to keep track of everything showing the lines on the syringe and where the plunger should be in relation to the lines. Maybe doing something like that would help you get a consistent dose? Since I give shots pretty early in the morning I figured I needed a very clear reminder :lol:
 
Yes not a morning person, back at the 599 so tonight I gave him a small one very close to the line. He looks good even though Bg so high
 
Simone:

I understand what you're doing -- adjusting the dose based on the pre-shot number. It's very tempting to do this when your kitty is sitting in high numbers. The bounce will clear. However, (and it's a big "however"), Lantus dosing is not based on the the pre-shot number. You adjust your dose based on the nadir and you need to give each dose change a chance to settle in. I'll try to explain.

Lantus is what's called a "depot" drug. What this means is that Lantus is stored in the fat tissue and forms what is referred to as a depot. Every time a dose is changed, the depot needs time to "catch up" with the change. If you adjust the dose based on the pre-shot number, the depot doesn't have time to catch up in a reliable way and you end up with wonky numbers. In addition, you could end up giving too much insulin is you are basing the dose on the pre-shot rather than the lowest number in the cycle. You also need to give a new dose 3 - 5 days to settle.

So, based on Simke's performance yesterday, you should be using 0.75 as your dose.
 
One more question, when should I do his next blood curve and how can I make sure he is safe with the shot I gave him. I was lucky I was doing a curve or I may have missed or been slower to respond to his his crash.
 
Re: 05/06 Simke AMPS 599 +2 518

518 at +2 Should I do anything else tonight?

Thanks so much for your help.
 
There's not much else you can do tonight other than catch up on your sleep.

I'm a big fan of a +2 test. If the +2 is considerably lower than your pre-shot test number, then it's likely to be an active cycle. I mentioned this in your thread from yesterday.

There was also Marje's list from yesterday:
Marje and Gracie said:
A few recaps:
  • Please reduce his dose to .75u twice a day. If he bounces way up into the high 200s/or above 300 by PMPS, you can "shoot through the bounce" with the 1u dose tonight and then reduce to .75u tomorrow morning. You are also free to take the reduction tonight if you prefer.
  • If possible, it would be great if you could get the tests I recommended earlier each day during the work week: always the Preshots as you have been, a +2 OR out-the-door (either works), an in-the-door, and then at night either a +2 or a before bed; then on weekends, you can do a little more testing to see what he's doing.
  • Please keep an eye on him because I am very worried about the episode he had. At the very least, please talk to your vet.
  • I know you have lots of folks around, but please be sure and get another test between now and PMPS; all that HC could wear off and he might wobble a bit but I don't anticipate that he will wobble back down low.
  • When you have time later today/tonight, if you could please revise the SS to match the tests you got, we would really appreciate it. Let me know if you need help. You can stack numbers in one column. For instance, in the +6 column, you can reduce the font and type "34; 36 @ 6.5" (without the quotations).

Curves are useful. Getting random tests during the day may be easier and provide just as much informaiton.
 
I guess what my question is:

How likely is it when his +2 is 518 for him to go hypoglycaemic is this period? Sorry feeling very worried.
 
I wish that I could say, "It's impossible." I've had Gabby drop from an AMPS in the 400s to the 40s and spike back to the 400s by PMPS. The drop wasn't at +2, though. The more information you're able to gather on your cat will help you to better understand Simke's patterns. In addition, the more you're experienced with steering his numbers, the more confident you'll be.
 
Simone

The basic rule of thumb with lantus is if the +2 is alot more than the PS, it's probably going to be an Inactive cycle, if it's similar to the PS, it's likely to be an active lantus cycle, of it's much less than the PS, it's likely to be a very active cycle with a possible early drop.
 
Sorry not understanding the short terms. But gathering anytime I see the drops are big the cycle maybe more active, but then it must not be very safe to leave your cat then? I am struggling with his appetite, seem to have to try 4 different foods before I find one he ll eat sometimes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top