05/05 Bailey uk, i dont know whats going on with his bg now!

Status
Not open for further replies.

anna and bailey.uk england

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=118177

just when I thought we wee getting there weve had a couple of bad days! I don't know whats happening with his little body.
im booked in tomorrow,on my own with the head of practice at a different vets to discuss my bailey. no point taking him with me as he wont let the vet anywhere near the pet carrier.il then make an appointment and take him in (he'll have to be sedated)and have aload of tests done for ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING,maybe xrays etc to find what is that's happening with my little guys body.something is going on.i know my boy better than anyone and something is just not right.i don't care how much it cost but im absolutely going to get to the bottom of this no matter what it takes!!!

edited to say.....its strange he hasn't shown any usual signs of high bg.i.e drinking and weeing etc!
 
Re: 05/05 Bailey uk, i dont know whats going on with his bg

He is hitting some blues so his body might be bouncing. As he gets more blues, his body will be more used to them and bounce less. A good checkup can rule other issues out.

That is challenging. He gets so scared he bites the vets?
 
Re: 05/05 Bailey uk, i dont know whats going on with his bg

bites??? he goes wild!! he went for the vet and then me on thurs when I took him in yet as soon as he got out of the carrier afterwards at our home .he just sat there and let me inject him with his antibiotic and painkiller! hes always been this way.terrified of the outside. inside hes the most loveable little thing.my 13 month old niece pulls his tail and he just sits there and lets her!
I honestly think this is more than boucing.hes bounced back from MUCH lower numbers more often and in a shorter time.something is going on!!
 
Re: 05/05 Bailey uk, i dont know whats going on with his bg

Hi Anna,

No advice from me - just lots of moral support. With the board being all wonky lately, I haven't been able to reply much, but I've been trying to keep up with you and Bailey. It's great to see at least a few better numbers on the spreadsheet. Paws are crossed that the vet can figure out another reason why Bailey's sugars may not want to come down - a reason that is easily treatable, of course. Let us know how the visit goes. I'll be sending out lots of good vetty and healing vines! :YMHUG:

Shelly
 
Re: 05/05 Bailey uk, i dont know whats going on with his bg

Hi Anna,

No advice from me either, just moral support. In any case, I would be happy with Bailey's blue readings that you saw a few days ago. I hope everything goes for the best with Bailey. My Juno also goes completely wild at the vet clinic. When he had to start the insulin, the vet couldn't approach him to give him the first shot and he was sedated! There's just no point of taking him to the vet. It's too much stress for them, unless medical exams are needed.

Good luck!
 
Re: 05/05 Bailey uk, i dont know whats going on with his bg

thanks shelly.that means a lot.theres got to be something! hes suffered with cystitis all his life and I have a sneaky suspicion that its something to do with that.whether it be something horrid or not, I need to know! I don't want to think to far ahead just I case.hes my EVERYTHING and it scares me!
 
Re: 05/05 Bailey uk, i dont know whats going on with his bg

the bladder issues might still be a problem, i don't know. but i can see that his numbers today are from bouncing from the blue numbers last night.

Could you add medical information, like about the cystitis and the antibiotic, including when you give him ABs, what it is and how much, on his spreadsheet? these things can be very important when looking at dosing and they can have an effect on his blood sugar.
 
Re: 05/05 Bailey uk, i dont know whats going on with his bg

I agree with the others, Bailey is bouncing. He might even have gone a bit lower last night as sometimes he likes,to nadir late. The good news is that it just took three cycles to get over the last bounce and he was seeing nice numbers again.

I've heard people comment that kitties don't seem to feel as bad in a bounce vs not enough insulin.

Cystitis can definitely raise the BGs. My little guy is in the 50's at home and higher when having an episode, though that was measured at the vet. Do you have any travelling vets near you? They can be great for kitties that really hate going into the clinic. They can't do operations but can do an exam and take bloodwork at home.
 
Re: 05/05 Bailey uk, i dont know whats going on with his bg

Adding another vote for bouncing here!

On May 1, he got down to 5.5 (91) and bounced to 23.2 (418)
May 2, he got down to 7.1(128) and bounce to 23.2 (418)
May 4, down to 8.7 (157) and bounced to 23.1 (416)

Just because he dropped lower in the past and didn't bounce any higher, doesn't mean much. Sometimes they're just going to bounce higher than they might have the "last time" ..some bounces are going to be sooner, others later, but when you consider how close these numbers really are, I think it's just Bailey being a bouncy kitty.

Hopefully you'll get some answers from this new vet that eases your mind. You don't know if you want them to find something (just so you know) or you don't want them to find something (because nobody wants them to have another problem)

Bailey...you're worrying your mamabean! You stop that right now! (let's see if a stern talking to helps)
 
Re: 05/05 Bailey uk, i dont know whats going on with his bg

Hang in there! The more time Bailey spends in normal numbers, the more his body will recognize them and, hopefully, not bounce as much.
 
Re: 05/05 Bailey uk, i dont know whats going on with his bg

his stern talking to hasn't worked ;-)

I went for a consultation with the vet this morning (without bailey) and hes going in a week today.the vet is the head of practice and also has another practice further away so he only does 2 days a week at the one near us hence the delay but I know hes the best!!!hes going to test him for everything under the sun. he thinks the neuropathy has something to do with his potassium levels! hes going to do a sterile urine check straight from the bladder,a test for acromelagy,pancreatitis(even though its already been done weeks ago),a scan and many more to name but a few but hes determined to get to the bottom of it! like he said theres something not right that he needs so much insulin and also that he has times where it works and times where it doesn't.(hes checked his spreadsheet) this vet doesn't like things beating him so we're in the best place!! (thanks diane and bailey)

hes pleased I have the forum..................and so am I :YMHUG:

edited to say...........he even knew about bouncing! something the other vet I was seeing did not!
 
Re: 05/05 Bailey uk, i dont know whats going on with his bg

Hi Anna - sounds like a good vet visit, excellent vet and good plan going forward. Did you see this post on Health for a study on FD kitties in the UK who have been diagnosed less than 4 months. They've done some great work on acromegaly if that is what Bailey tests positive for.

Come on down Bailey!
 
Re: 05/05 Bailey uk, i dont know whats going on with his bg

thanks wendy. unfortunately my boy has been diagnosed 8 months ago.thats why its so frustrating were still nowhere near regulated! its tough watching him.some days I do worry im doing the right thing and not putting him through too much but then there are the good days where he plays abit and watches the birds on his ledge,wakes his mama bean shouting for breakfast.(I miss those days he used to shimmy up the bed to bite my feet to wake me and id shout and hed hide and then do it again til I got up and fed him)we're having abit of a poop day today...............I just want my boy back :'-(
 
Re: 05/05 Bailey uk, i dont know whats going on with his bg

hi anna! i'll go ahead and reply on this post since you don't have a more current one, but tomorrow would you start a new one?

i'm sorry you're feeling discouraged today - hoping you wrote that before he had this nice curve this afternoon. According to my math, that 238 nadir today would be about 175 on a human meter - a nice blue!

Night before last when you caught a 157, that was about a 116 or so on the human meters. I'm taking the 157 and multiplying it times .74. Looks to me like today's numbers might be clearing a bounce from that 157 on 5/4. If you don't see something under 150 AT or so tonight, i think you have room to increase a little bit. Your goal for nadirs is 68 to roughly 160 or so. If you're not consistently having nadirs in that range (in between the bouncing), and you want to push him down a little farther, you could increase the dose. If you're going to be around, i'd probably go up another 0.5u. The more he's under 160 the more his body will get used to it and the more the bouncing will lessen.

what do you think about that?

hope you had a great weekend with your niece!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top