05/03 Juno AMPS 414 +5 342 +9 142 PMPS 61

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tininha & Juno

Member Since 2014
Hello everyone!

Juno's BG levels have been pretty crazy the whole day. He started the day very high (with 414mg/dl) which may be due to the fact that I couldn't give him the evening shot two days ago, and now his BG level is at 61mg/dl. To my knowledge it's the lowest he has been since he has been with insulin, so it was a bit scary to see such a low number, even though it can be a good thing. What is worrying me is that his levels dropped very fast to a low number and I'd prefer the descend to be more steady. I don't want to give the evening shot with such a low number right now, so I'm going to wait and see how he's going to be in a while.

Have a great evening!
 
Hi Cristina, try waiting without feeding for 1/2 hour and testing again. If he's surfing or rising then, you should be good to give the shot then. You'll still have several hours before onset and you can feed him lots until then.

The fun thing with Levemir is that some cats (like my Neko) have their nadir at PS time. It can be scarey the first few times.
 
Hi Wendy!

Thanks! He's now at 77 one hour after the "true" PMPS. It's really scary... In one hand, I know if I don't give him the shot his values will go up as crazy and, on the other hand, if I give him the full dose right now, I'm afraid of a hypo shock... It's so difficult to predict what will happen then. Since I cannot postpone more time the shot, I think I'll give him only 1u to be on the safe side...
 
Consistent dosing is best. If he's one his way up you have three or four hours yet to onset. I'd do 1.25u if you are home to monitor tonight. You can always manage the cycle with food, you are in control of the numbers.
 
For future reference, a delay in shot also acts like a bit of a reduction, so you already had that going for him.
 
Thank you for the feedback, Wendy. I think I'm going to have a very busy night. Oh these sleepless nights... His values are now equal to 76, at +4 after the evening shot. Very good numbers, but I'm afraid it will go too low until the morning shot.
 
i doubt that he would dive at this point. You're 4 hrs past his shot and he's at the same BGs now as he was then.

Shooting low can be a great opportunity if you're home to monitor. Often it can reduce the entire range and reduce or eliminate bouncing. We generally say if a cat is over 50, you're probably safe to shoot. If no one is on in the morning, you can refer to the Low Numbers sticky here. You might want to read the section on shooting low tonight, so you have a plan for morning.

As long as a cat isn't going straight down, like Juno was today, you probably can go ahead and shoot if you'll be home to monitor. then get a +1 and +2 to make sure he isn't diving. With numbers headed straight down today, he was clearing a bounce and you were very smart to delay just long enough to make certain the diving had stopped and he had reached the bottom and was either surfing or starting to come up.

Here's a spreadsheet that shows the change that can happen when you shoot low. Look around February to see when Shawna started shooting green numbers: Davidson
 
Fantastic cycle for Juno. All this flat green is very healing. That's one of the things I love about Levemir, you can get some very flat cycles. :-D

A couple things on your spreadsheet. Since you did a slightly skinny 1.25, could you write it as s1.25 or 1.25s, either will let us know it was not quite the regular dose. And secondly, you can put that 61 in the +11 column, and write it as something like 61@+12.
 
Hi Julie,

You were so right and Juno didn't dive as much as I expected... I think I'm starting to understanding how Levemir works on Juno, but I still have lots to learn. Thanks for the great tips!
 
I think so too, Wendy. Today I'm looking like a zombie, but Juno is feeling great. :-D What a great night he had! Thanks for the suggestions. The spreadsheet is now updated.
 
I think so too, Wendy. Today I'm looking like a zombie, but Juno is feeling great. :-D What a great night he had! Thanks for the suggestions. The spreadsheet is now updated.
 
Great cycle! I do think the more you become accustomed to how Juno responds to Lev, you'll feel like you have a better handle on shooting low, etc. The only point where I differ from Wendy is that given Lev typically has a later nadir, you may not yet have a sense of where Juno may go by +4. It could be that Juno is a cat with an early nadir for Lev (e.g., with Gabby, her nadir is usually at around +4 with Lantus vs. +6 which is more typical).
 
Thanks for the visit, Sienne! It seems pretty random to me at this point where Juno's nadir is, but maybe that just my eyes looking at the spreadsheet and lack of experience. nailbite_smile
 
Great job testing last night. I didn't suggest you'd know where Juno's cycle would look like by +4. The testing you did last night looked good and similar to what I have done with Neko when she starts low.

I've seen a few cats on Levemir, including mine, where they don't really have a consistent nadir. I find that if Neko starts the cycle lower, then the nadir is often earlier. If I get a +2 or +3 test and it's similar to PS, then there's a good chance it'll be an active cycle. If she starts higher, or the +2 or +3 is quite a bit higher than the PS, then the nadir is later. Those are rules of thumb that work for me, you'll have to see what works for Juno.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top