05/02 Zach AMPS 304 PMPS 400 Discouraged

Lamanda

Member Since 2024
Hi All,
Here's my initial post for some background on Zach's journey
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/difficulty-regulating.288285/#post-3166337

I'm trying to follow SLGS, but I am feeling discouraged/overwhelmed/burnt out. I understand ECID and insulin needs change over time, and that it takes time to regulate And that it hasn't been all that long (6 months) since Zach's diagnosis. But I feel like I'm not getting anywhere. It seems as I increase his dose, Zach's diabetes symptoms get worse (higher numbers, increased hunger, losing weight). I admittedly haven't been able to test often as I'd like to lately due to other circumstances but I'm doing my best and planning for a full curve within the next few days. Any advice from the numbers you see on his spreadsheet?

Has anyone found success by switching to a different type of insulin? At this point I feel like Lantus is doing more harm than good and my vet isn't helpful.
 
Here's the link to your last post here: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-2-15-8-2-18-3-2-6-2-19-4-2-pmps-14-1.288469/ I (and most others) like to take a look back at what was said previously, to see what was said.

I don't think the problem is the Lantus, but rather the dosing of it. On FDMB, we do increases by 0.25 units at a time when following SLGS, and only increase when we know how low the dose is taking the kitty. He also got to a lot higher dose, so I suspect his good dose may be higher than where he is now, though less than when he hypoed, but with the data you have, it's hard to tell. Even with the data you have, I can't tell if you should have increased from 1.5 units to 2.0.

With SLGS as the dosing method, you hold the dose for 7 days, unless they go under 90. For those 7 days you test before every shot (yes, I was surprised a few times by Neko being under 50 first thing in the morning!). You don't want to shoot if it's not safe to do so. And try to get other spot test during the day. It doesn't have to be mid cycle, but a out the door, or in the door after work and a before bed test at night will tell you if he's going low some cycles and you are missing those lows. At least once during the 7 days on a dose, you need to do a curve. Using all the data collected, we can figure out what to do next with his insulin dose.

Those higher numbers you are seeing probably mean the insulin is taking him lower than he's used to and he's bouncing. I was heartbroken when in the beginning Neko's numbers got up to over 500! Then I caught some of the lower numbers - which were not dangerously low, but rather lower than she was used to.
 
Back
Top