04/30 Eddie AMPS 374 +7.5 121 PMPS 140 +8 362

Keeping things on Eddie's most current post, instead of bumping up yesterday's:
Is it then safe to say that Eddie's current numbers are not due to NDW ("NDW usually lasts for less than 24 hours and is usually seen in the second day following a dose increase")? even with SLGS?
NDW is an effect we see with depot style insulins Lantus and Levemir, it has nothing to do with the dosing method.
 
Keeping things on Eddie's most current post, instead of bumping up yesterday's:

NDW is an effect we see with depot style insulins Lantus and Levemir, it has nothing to do with the dosing method.
Ok, I was asking re: NDW because TR is mentioned a couple of times...Anyway, we've come down from the mountain @ +7.5 121
 
So, AM +7.5 121, Eddie comes down the mountain. I made his snack larger than usual as I'm aware that we could be looking at a PMPS similar to April 20th...So, just in case...
 
I don't see any reference to NDW in the Dosing Methods Sticky Note. We don't know what causes NDW, just speculate it might have something to do with the depot.

Nice to see he's gotten over whatever. Some cats take until the 5th or 6th cycle of a dose to show you what they can do on that dose.
 
I don't see any reference to NDW in the Dosing Methods Sticky Note. We don't know what causes NDW, just speculate it might have something to do with the depot.

Nice to see he's gotten over whatever. Some cats take until the 5th or 6th cycle of a dose to show you what they can do on that dose.

I was referring to this:
The Tight Regulation Protocol with Lantus or Levemir describes what we've fondly dubbed "New Dose Wonkiness" (NDW) here in the Lantus, Levemir, & Biosimilars ISG:

"Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations."

You might also see this happening while following the Start Low, Go Slow Method.


NOTE:
  • NDW usually lasts for less than 24 hours and is usually seen in the second day following a dose increase.
  • The concept of "New Dose Wonkiness" is NOT applied to higher numbers which may be seen after a dose reduction.
  • There is no "NDW" following a dose reduction nor do we hold a reduced dose 6 cycles (as done with dose increases) to "fill the insulin depot".
  • "Settling time" does not apply to dose reductions. We don't wait for a reduction to "settle".
  • For those following the Tight Regulation Protocol: "If the cat will not stay in the normal range after a reduction, immediately increase the dose again to the last good dose."
But, yes, let's see where we go from here. :cat::rolleyes:
 
Back
Top