04/29 Bubba +11.75/PMPS 63; +1 67; +2 50; +2.5 45; +3 47; +3.75 50; +4.5 65; +5.25 79; +7 119

bubbasmom (GA)

Member Since 2022
Yesterday

Bubba had zero desire to have his breakfast this morning - I think his appetite is still good, but since he’s had good numbers lately he just isn’t as ravenous - and I’m used to seeing Bubba as a BIG foodie, haha.
I begrudgingly added some MC wild salmon pate to his raw and fishy toppers for him to eat most of it. He did eat a raw-only snack last night so at least he isn’t making a habit of only wanting the canned food (of which I was concerned about). But since I needed him to eat something this morning, I made that concession.
Let’s see what my precious sunshine does today for his mama.

Also. I slept in so couldn’t walk back Bubbas insulin time by 15min as previously planned. I will either do 15 or 30 min tonight… if 30 is ok??
 
Last edited:
Bubba ate another snack a little bit ago of raw and beef bone broth / collagen - gobbled it all down!
He’s relaxing and taking it easy. He looks so fresh with his white bib after his Friday night bath!
 
Last edited:
We got a nice green this afternoon!

Bubba sat outside in the sunshine today for about 20 minutes! He loved it, tail swishing around and sniffing everything! Purring away.

Just a short time ago while petting Bubba, I noticed a submandibular (on/near neck, just under the jaw) lump on his right side... it's relatively soft, a bit firm, painless when palpated and seems to move around a little bit. Naturally, I'm freaking out. We have a follow-up appointment with Bubba's vet booked in 2 weeks (for other things going on), debating whether to mention it then or book an appt for next week (but also want to minimize stress for Bubba when he goes to the vet).
 
30 minutes earlier is OK for a day. As long as he doesn't decide to show you a lower PMPS of course. Cats!

Lumps like you describe can be common in older cats. I'd measure it and keep an eye on whether it's changing in size and how fast. Any chance you could send a video/picture of it to the vet and ask if you should come in sooner?
 
This boy sure keeping me on my toes... was gonna go out to the store after his dinner/PM shot, but NOPE homie has to be 3.6 / 65 @ +11.25.

Going to retest in about 20minutes @ approx 11.75, see where he is at / if he went up, feed him some raw + MC then shoot his regular dose of 7.5U. I can't really stall as we already stalled yesterday morning and I'm working on walking back his dose.

I was planning on walking back his shot by 15 minutes (which is in about 20 minutes).

I feel better giving him his shot with these lower numbers based on what happened yesterday and the fact I have MC First Mate canned food on hand that I can mix with his raw.

Does this sound like a safe plan? Re-test in about 5 min, feed raw + MC canned, then give shot at planned 15min walked back time... which is in 20minutes

@Wendy&Neko @Bandit's Mom @Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
30 minutes earlier is OK for a day. As long as he doesn't decide to show you a lower PMPS of course. Cats!

Lumps like you describe can be common in older cats. I'd measure it and keep an eye on whether it's changing in size and how fast. Any chance you could send a video/picture of it to the vet and ask if you should come in sooner?

Thanks Wendy. The lump seems to be subcutaneous - only way to assess is to palpate it, fine needle aspirate, etc etc. I was able to go from either side of the lump and kind of move it around a bit, feels like a medium sized grape :nailbiting::(
I emailed his vet about it already.
 
Went down from 3.6 / 65 to 3.5 / 63 - not going up. He nibbled a bit of dinner, going to add a few more yummy incentives to get him to finish it off!
 
I gave Bubba his shot 15min earlier than this morning since I am walking back his shot time to his regular time... I can't really stall tonight since I stalled an hour yesterday morning due to low pre-shot numbers. Bubba just ate a nice dinner of raw with some MC First Mate wild salmon & tuna mixed in to ensure Bubba has some carbs in him... even though I don't want his sugars to raise "artificially" due to the MC food, I figured it's better than him going super low, or having to stall even more.
 
When you shoot your lowest yet, the suggestion is to get a +1 and a +2, to see if you have to intervene early. Paws crossed for safe green flatness.
 
When you shoot your lowest yet, the suggestion is to get a +1 and a +2, to see if you have to intervene early. Paws crossed for safe green flatness.

Thanks Wendy. Yes, I will be checking in about an hour. Made me realize I rarely checked his +1 and +2 sugars after AM and PM shots to see what's up - he's always been high as a kite so never needed a reason :banghead::rolleyes:
 
Bubba went up just a little to 3.7mmol / 67 (from 3.5/63)... not a whole lot, but at least it isn't going down! Bubba is currently nibbling on the rest of his dinner, still didn't quite finish it; relaxing and bathing away
 
Here we go again!!!! Repeat of April 25 PM... only difference is this time I am home / not on night shift and have MC First Mate Salmon/Tuna food on hand (as well as honey)
I just gave Bubba a tsp or so of MC food; he's relaxing and bathing. Asymptomatic.

Guess this warrants a reduction for tomorrow morning from 7.5U to 7U!
 
Yes on the reduction. Did you get anything that is HC? If not, add a drop of honey or syrup to what you are feeding him. It's early in the cycle. We want him UP!
 
+3.75 2.8 / 50

Bubba finally went up to 50... but only ever so slightly from 2.6 to 2.8 :oops::rolleyes:
gave another spoonful of MC + dab of honey
Bubba is relaxing and loving all the yummy spoons mama brings every half hour!
 
Last edited:
Looking like another slog night!

Yes, talk about from one extreme to the other! Took long enough to get here, but I'm glad we are here. I'm lucky to have the most cooperative boy... the lancet pokes don't even phase him, sometimes he sleeps through his ear jabs!

I have The X-Files to keep me awake; thank god I'm home tonight!
 
should I still give Bubba his new reduced dose of 7U tmrw? or should I give 1/2 (like on 04/25) or 2/3 of the dose since he had some limes tonight? or since the limes didn't last as long as 04/25, would administering 7U be ok?
 
+4.5 3.6 / 65

Woohoo!
Bubba had another yummy spoon of MC food, no honey this time
will check in another 30min
Stay with LC now and see if he stays up without carbs? You want to make sure he is over 50 two hours after the last meals with carbs/honey

should I still give Bubba his new reduced dose of 7U tmrw? or should I give 1/2 (like on 04/25) or 2/3 of the dose since he had some limes tonight? or since the limes didn't last as long as 04/25, would administering 7U be ok?
Let's see what he does later tonight and where he is at AMPS. If he comes up comfortably, a BCS or a skip might not be needed. Hopefully Wendy will check-in later to advise on dose.

ETA: Could you please take off the AM cycle numbers from the title and add the numbers for the PM cycle? Thanks! :-)
 
+5.25 4.4 / 79

Bubba making some progress in going up!!
he ate another snack of raw + MC; he feels like a stuffed blimp!
he had a pp and drink of water; is now back to lying down awaiting another yummy spoon from mama LOL
 
Back
Top