04/26 Tray's AMPS 338 Some Eyes Please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Iorwen & Tray

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=41728&view=unread#unread

Sorry I haven't been around, I took some time off work because I've had a major migraine for days now that won't seem to go away. the weather has been bad, lots of rain and crazy winds. I hope all of you have been well and your kitties safe and healthy.

Tray's numbers have been bad, I don't know what happened to him. I know the wind has freaked him out but other than that I have no explanation. I opened a new pen, It's been in my fridge so it should be good insulin. I upped his dose to 3.5 units but so far it hasn't helped. I've been quite frustrated with things as he was doing so well before. I hope someone can take some time and take a peek at his spreadsheet and give me some input. This headache won't let me think straight so I need some help.

thanks in advance.
 
Iorwen, Could he have something brewing, a slight infection? Dental? seems funny he's not going down, but give it another couple of days...Hope he comes down some--Look at Moonie just had something brewing, and the clavamox & dose crease got her better--Hope the mystery can be solved..Hugs from Us!
 
Hi Iorwen - no dose advice here, but I can understand your frustration - have been there a couple of time myself. At least this will bump you up in cue.

I hope you feel better soon!
 
Iorwen, I'm sorry you aren't feeling well...yuck on the migraines! I have to run out right now, but I will look a little later. He was doing so well.... :? Tray, pink is not your color!
 
So sorry about your migraines. There must be something going around in the air because I can't get rid of my headaches either.

I know how frustrated you must be with Tray's numbers. I don't have any advice on dose but I am thinking about you and Tray and hoping things turn around real soon.
 
Hi guys ... sorry to see that tray's numbers are stuck up high .. Hopefully others with more experienced eyes can help figure this out for you .. hopefully your headache clears up soon and you start feeling better .. have a great day guys!
 
Looking at yesterday, the overnight numbers and today might be a bounce...possibly from lows yesterday. I would hold the dose and see what happens tonight...you are on cycle 5 of the increase so you want to hold it one more cycle anyway.

I'm suspicious of the insulin...I would open a new pen if you can. The numbers change with the new cartridge, and they are wonky.

I also wonder about infection/stress...he was doing nicely, and then his numbers have gone higher, and not necessarily in a bouncing pattern. Any chance he has a UTI or some other type of infection just getting started? When Tinkles had the chronic URI, I could see the infection waxing in his numbers before he was symptomatic. LB ok, tummy issues?

If he were my kitty, I would hold the dose where it is....open a new cartridge and see what happens with that. I really think it's the insulin....but I could be wrong, of course!

See what others think....
 
Sorry about the migraine.

IMHO, you're holding on to doses for too long. You were at 3.25u for almost 6 weeks. Tray's numbers weren't bad but they weren't great either at that dose. Evaluate how Tray is doing during the 6th cycle at the current 3.5u dose and if you're still seeing mostly pink and yellow, increase to 3.75. I tend to not stick at a dose unless the kitty is seeing mostly blue and green. A cat can readjust to higher numbers making it harder to bring the numbers down and encouraging bouncing.
 
thanks everyone. My head is still pounding and it hurts to even read this but I appreciate all the advice.
Tray isn't showing any signs of infection, lb visits are routine and normal deposits of both kinds. He's eating well and playful.
I will increase the dose after the 6th cycle and see what happens.

Again thank you everyone, especially Sienne and Laurie
 
you've already gotten good input, so I'll just stop in and wave "hello!!!" Good to see you. Now come on, Tray, get those numbers down for us.
 
Sending anti migraine wishes your way. I hope that you get some relief soon and so does Tray. He had been having some pretty numbers by the looks of his SS. You are in very good hands with those that gave you advise today and tonight.. Don't worry, you'll get him back on track. ;-)
 
(((Iorwen))) I am so sorry about your headaches...I hope that you will be free of them soon....
Good luck with Tray's dose. As long as there is nothing brewing with him....and that is good news....then I wish you well with the increases as needed....sending healing vines to you tonight! :YMHUG:
 
Iorwen, we are sending some migraine healing vines for you! I've had more than my usual share of migraines lately, too. I know that it is weather related. Did you consider trying the "Stillpoint Inducer"? Check it out on Amazon. You lie down with the back of your head on the inducer. It feels weird, but I think it works.

Hope that Tray's problem is a bad pen. Have a good night and feel better.

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top