04/25 Bubba AMPS 220; +4 92; +6.5 83; +10 115; PMPS 130; +2.5 43 ; +3.5 36; +4.25 43; +4.75/+5.5 40

nice greenie at +4....

Bubba is doing alright. He had two pp accidents - one late last night (on the mat downstairs - when his box was like 4 feet away :rolleyes: & one at some point overnight on the pp pad). No accidents since and there's pp in his box since this morning. He's relaxing and had a bunch of steamed salmon - his fave snack.
 
Bubba staying in the greens and not dipping too low…. :D:D
He’s had a lot of snacks, played in some cat nip and is now relaxing. While he drinks water less frequently, he chugs big time when he does :rolleyes:o_O
 
Boopsie Boy seeing some solid greens and blues today!!!!
I'm on night shift tonight, so my mom is prepared to test often should Bubba dipsie doo into lower greens tonight. Fingers crossed homie floats nicely into low blues/high greens.
Fingers toes eyes legs arms crossed :bighug::cool::Do_O:woot:
 
At +2.75 after PM shot, Bubba is at 2.4mmol / 43 aka a LIME! Down from 7.4mmol / 130 @ PMPS.

He is currently asymptomatic for hypo - he is alert, walking around ok, went pee in his LB.
Of course I am at work on night shift... parents rubbed honey on his gums (approx 1/2 tsp) and are feeding him (steamed salmon, and beef raw food + canned salmon - the fish is to stimulate his appetite since he hasn't been all that hungry today).
They are going to re-check his sugars approx 20 min after the LIME.

I've read the "how to handle low numbers" documents, etc... is there anything else we need to do?!?!?
Kicking myself as I should have got my parents to check his sugars sooner at like +2... as Bubba has been having good numbers and hope an automatic reduction doesn't mess up the blue/green wave he's been having lately

I guess he will be getting 7.5U tomorrow morning (down from 8U)
 
What you did is right. Honey (since you're feeding raw) and a test in 20 mins is good. No surprises that he picked a night when you're working to do this!
If he comes up over 50 in 20 mins, you want to continue to monitor him and ensure he stays over 50 2 hours after the last high carb/honey was given.
 
My mom couldn't draw any blood so it took a long while to finally get a sample... he went DOWN to 2.0mmol / 36 @ +3.5. She's going to give a full tsp of honey / rub it on his gums. They're trying to get him to eat more raw beef + fish, but he isn't really hungry. I told them to shove it in his mouth if they have to LOL

Freaking out a little bit, he remains asymptomatic...
 
Definitely reduction earned! :eek: Make sure your parents don't stuff him too much. You do want him a little bit hungry until he's well above 50.

The thing about cats on higher doses, they also have larger depots. Which can be a pain in cycles following a reduction. Since he hit the 30's, and depending on his AMPS, you might want to consider a one time larger reduced dose tomorrow morning, to try to drain that depot some. Something in the order of 1/2 dose to 2/3 of a dose. I'm considering that you probably want to get some sleep tomorrow too. Then you'd shoot his newly earned 7.5 units dose tomorrow evening.
 
Definitely reduction earned! :eek: Make sure your parents don't stuff him too much. You do want him a little bit hungry until he's well above 50.

The thing about cats on higher doses, they also have larger depots. Which can be a pain in cycles following a reduction. Since he hit the 30's, and depending on his AMPS, you might want to consider a one time larger reduced dose tomorrow morning, to try to drain that depot some. Something in the order of 1/2 dose to 2/3 of a dose. I'm considering that you probably want to get some sleep tomorrow too. Then you'd shoot his newly earned 7.5 units dose tomorrow evening.


Thanks Wendy. So depending on his AMPS, I would give approx 4U (1/2 dose of current 8U) or approx 4.5U (2/3 dose of current 8U) ??
 
Start with 4 U and see if that works. With larger doses, best to err on the side of caution. If you find it's too big a reduction, next time do 2/3, if needed.
 
Start with 4 U and see if that works. With larger doses, best to err on the side of caution. If you find it's too big a reduction, next time do 2/3, if needed.

Ok. Thank you Wendy. So to double confirm, give approx 4U tmrw morning... but also depending on what the AMPS is....
 
He went back down again to 2.2mmol / 40. My mom didn't give honey at the +4.25 check, just food (she knows she has to!). She just gave him more honey now at +5.
OK... Good.
Get her to test in 20 mins, no later please, as we want to make sure he is on the way back up.
I'm sure it must be hard for you not being there, but your Mom is doing all the right things.
 
OK... Good.
Get her to test in 20 mins, no later please, as we want to make sure he is on the way back up.
I'm sure it must be hard for you not being there, but your Mom is doing all the right things.

Thank you! My dad has taken over for a bit, mom is wiped out :(
I'm so worried about my boy!
I don't know why his sugars haven't gone up; he has had so much honey and food! He must feel like a stuffed potato!
 
:bighug:
Thank you! My dad has taken over for a bit, mom is wiped out :(
I'm so worried about my boy!
I don't know why his sugars haven't gone up; he has had so much honey and food! He must feel like a stuffed potato!
It’s not uncommon for this to happen and for the numbers to wobbly around a bit and stay low. It is still in the first half of the cycle as well. We just have to keep the honey and food up to him and keep him safe until he decides to head on up.
It’s a fine balancing act as to the honey and food. We don’t want him to have too much honey and he’s sick, or too much food and he won’t eat.
I know how hard it must be for you not to be there :bighug:But he’s not on his own and you are in control because you are testing and feeding.
 
@ +4.25 Bubba was 2.4 / 43
@ +4.75 & +5.5
Bubba remained at 2.2 / 40

+5.5 was about 10 minutes ago
 
Last edited:
Test again 20 mins after honey

+6.25 2.0 / 36

He still isn't going up!?!?

We've been doing everything. Honey + food... just keeping monitoring I guess...
Bubba is walking around ok, he's alert - he got up to drink some water, he jumped up on a small platform (about 6 inches high) that he likes to lie down on - so he remains totally asymptomatic
 
Last edited:
I think you mean 36 not 56.
Would he eat some ice cream, or yogurt that has sugar added?
Or do you have any high carb canned foods?
Otherwise keep rubbing the gums with honey and testing each 20 minutes
Tell your parents they are doing a great job keeping Bubba safe

Thank you for the correction!

No, we don't have any HC canned foods unfortunately. Bubba only eats raw. I suppose I should get some to have on hand LOL **hindsight**
 
+6.75 2.6 / 47

Oh so close to 50! But I'm glad Bubba went up from 2.0 to 2.6 in approx 30 minutes.
He had honey stuck his face, mom had to wipe it off LOL

It probably is, but I hope this isn't too much honey for him to handle!
 
+7.5 3.0 / 54

Sorry Bron! Got caught up at work (not only have a fur patient at home to take care of, but patients at work! haha!)... but Bubba FINALLY went up to 3.0
 
Tha
+7.5 3.0 / 54

Sorry Bron! Got caught up at work (not only have a fur patient at home to take care of, but patients at work! haha!)... but Bubba FINALLY went up to 3.0
That is great. Your dad will need to keep testing every 30 minutes to make sure he doesn’t drop back down…..he might.
If he does, he will need more honey.
Is he eating anything. It would be good if he does.
 
We're taking shifts here as well. Bron has to go, so I'll take over. LOL.

He's really making your folks slog tonight! Got any tests after the +7.5?

+8.75 3.5 / 63

Bubba got honey when he was 2.6 at +6.75; then next at 3.5 at +8.75; I don't have the exact timeline and parents weren't writing down honey times

gonna check again in about 25 minutes
 
Last edited:
+10 5.8 / 104

FIINNAAAALLLLYYYYYYYYY
Bubba had a small snack just now at +10; he's bathing away.

Mom is going to take a nap until Bubba's AM shot time

@Bandit's Mom

confirming that we should still give Bubba a dose of 4U for the morning? ... 1/2 of his usual/recent dose of 8U - as per Wendy's post #9
 
I'm finally going on break / going to sleep for the next 2 hours... Bubba's sugars finally went up and mom went to sleep... until Bubba's AMPS in 1.75hrs

I will be checking my phone for AM dose confirmation and will relay that to my mom. She's aware it will be around 4U
 
Back
Top