04/24 Bambi PMPS 184, +5.5 91, +9.5 71, AMPS 127, +2 98, +3 79, +4 76

Caglar and Bambi

Member Since 2023
Previous post

Hi everyone. Bambi's numbers seem to be going well staying in greens and blues the last few days. Since her nadirs haven't gone below 50 but are staying below 100, I'm waiting for the full 10 cycles to complete before increasing the dose or watching to see if she falls under 50 to lower. I guess in TR there is no staying constant for more than 10 cycles, it's either a reduction or an increase until she goes into remission?

I want to ask about the food schedule after reading @Bandit's Mom's link about feeding the curve. Right now I'm trying to feed her 1 pouch 3 times a day - PMPS, +6 and AMPS. I changed from PMPS, +7 and AMPS +2 because I read that feeding after the nadir is not so great and is like putting brakes on. Feeding more than 3 times is also a bit difficult so I want to keep that the same if possible. Any suggestions for a better schedule? I wanted to keep the 12-hour fast to a minimum (My cats get really hungry in the morning, but they also get cranky if I don't feed them for longer than 6-7 hours during the day)
 
Wow! I love how she is flattening out into blues and greens. With nadirs in the 50s, you would hold the dose unless she earns a reduction by falling below 50 or if her numbers start going up - then you would increase the dose. A cat's insulin needs can go up and down so we just follow the numbers.

Yes, feeding after the nadir can reduce the duration of insulin. However, there are cats who get stomach acid or plain "hangry" if there is a long gap between meals. It's okay to feed a small snack of the lowest carbs possible after the nadir. So that can be +6 or +7 - depending on how long she can go without food.
 
Wow! I love how she is flattening out into blues and greens. With nadirs in the 50s, you would hold the dose unless she earns a reduction by falling below 50 or if her numbers start going up - then you would increase the dose. A cat's insulin needs can go up and down so we just follow the numbers.

I see, I couldn't see a section in the guide which says to hold the same dose (Just that a full 10 cycles need to be completed before increasing if nadirs under 100) so I wasn't sure. I will keep posting then since I guess there isn't a rule for keeping the same dose...

Yes, feeding after the nadir can reduce the duration of insulin. However, there are cats who get stomach acid or plain "hangry" if there is a long gap between meals. It's okay to feed a small snack of the lowest carbs possible after the nadir. So that can be +6 or +7 - depending on how long she can go without food.

The only low-carb I could find are 2-3 brands of canned (pouch) wet food so I just give 1/3 (A whole pouch) 3 times. Can maybe try 4 meals a day but it will not be possible in the long run. I will try my best then to feed when BG is going low before starting to rise.
 
Some cats do what is called a "Lantus double dip" - they go down till the nadir and then start going up after and at the end of the cycle, the dip again. The second dip is shallower than the nadir. Also. if a cat's pancreas is functioning, it will produce insulin in response to food, so numbers drops 3 hours after food. It's possible her pancreas are sputtering :-)
 
Some cats do what is called a "Lantus double dip" - they go down till the nadir and then start going up after and at the end of the cycle, the dip again. The second dip is shallower than the nadir. Also. if a cat's pancreas is functioning, it will produce insulin in response to food, so numbers drops 3 hours after food. It's possible her pancreas are sputtering :)

Something new everyday :) But that's great news if that's the case. And her numbers are looking good. She dropped to 48 last night. I didn't overdo the feeding just gave her a bit of med-carb dry food to prevent her falling further. I've reduced to 0.25u.
 
Back
Top