04/23 transition to Lantus

Pabs&Ro

Member Since 2020
Pabay has been on Lantus for 23 days now (previously on caninsulin then prozinc). We are on our second dose increase. Now on 1.5 twice a day. He is still high but the bouncing seems to have stopped. Consequently he is feeling better. When we increased the dose a couple of days ago the curve on the day of the increase was quite high which surprised me but I guess his body has to get used to it. Next curve is on Tuesday. Heading in the right direction?
 
Have you tried to remove the biscuits/dry food from his diet? I think it would help to bring those numbers down.
 
Hi Ro,

I love Pabay's sweet face! Here is your last post for continuity (here on the Lantus forum we like to have this included on every new thread so we can review your history before addressing the new day's concerns): https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/04-07-pabay-second-opinion-on-new-dose.245858/

Since you're following SLGS, you'd increase doses by .25 units every 7 days if nadirs are above 150/8.3, so you might want to keep doing that until you break through the glucose toxicity. It just means finding the right dose, and it looks like you're not quite there yet. Keep at it, and he might turn a corner on Lantus.

Did you ever get around to trying the freeze dried raw foods? 8.9% carbs, though not very high, might still be too high for Pabay, and we really don't know the effect of biscuits on a sugar kitty's system. I know that when I took my Ruby off dry food that pretty much helped her into blue and green numbers after just a few weeks. I know it's a struggle. When you've tried raw food, have you added any supplements like Felini Complete to make sure the food is nutritionally balanced? I have a non-diabetic kitty who was a die hard biscuit eater, hated all canned foods, but once she tried raw food with EZ Complete, a powdered supplement here in the US that contains chicken liver, she liked it. Wondered if you had tried one of these supplements that might make the food more palatable for Pabay to get him more regulated. The raw meats I feed to Ruby have essentially zero carbs. Also, if he suffers from pancreatitis attacks, the fish might be inflammatory as well.
 
Katherine,

Many thanks. I bought a bag of freeze dried food and he turned his nose up at it. I tried soaking too but no luck. His sister who normally hoovers up everything turned her nose up at it. It was worth a try.

There has been one development on the food front. Elizabeth&Bertie posted details of a new food - cold pressed chicken from feringa which is between 3.6 and 5.7% carbs. That arrived two days ago and I am going to introduce it slowly as we have just done a dose increase. The good news is that he loves it. I have never been able to say that about any food in his entire life. He has always been fussy and underweight. He cleaned his bowl of the cold-pressed chicken and looked for more which was a first for him.

Today my new batch of low carb wet food arrived. Now trying feringa, macs and another catzinfineood. I keep trying....

We do use a food supplement thanks and tried it with the raw food. No luck. My neighbours cat adored the raw food and woofed it down so there was nothing wrong with it.

I have tried Pabay with freshly cooked chicken liver and hearts and he just licks it.

Yes the fish could cause problems but as he needs to eat often and small meals I need some low carb food to give him during the day so the BG is not high due to food. Given how he eats his fish and likes it I am optimistic that it is ok for him but I certainly don't want him to become dependent on it.

Yes to every 7 days - the next curve is next Tuesday. There was just a bit of a delay up until the 1.5 increase as my vet was away on a placement and we were on holiday (with Pabs in the RV.)

I am optimistic. Thanks again for all of your kind suggestions.
 
Hooray for cold pressed chicken! :p Sounds like you are working hard at finding the right food that will please Pabay. It boggles the mind how stubborn cats can be but I think that’s part of the reason why we love them so much, too. They have their own minds about things. :rolleyes: Good luck with the foods and keep us posted on your progress. :bighug:
 
Update: One month into Lantus on a 3 year journey of DM and Pabay is feeling great - turbo charged in fact. Eating well; very active; drinking a lot at times but not so that he is sick every morning; no ketones; happy and stronger. No weight put on yet but none lost.

We have increased the dose twice in one month: last increase to 1.5 units on 20th April.

On 25th April we changed from Thrive chicken 9% carb to Feringa cold-pressed chicken 4% completely. It was far more sudden than we wanted but he just decided he would no longer eat any Thrive. The change in food and the dose of 1.5 units has had a big impact. The nadir is lower for longer and the pre-shot figures are generally going down. Even after a week the figures are continuing to improve. Tonight was a worry as the pre-shot was 11.1 (low for Pabay) so I reduced the dose by 0.25 tonight.

We have a good happy kitty and bouncing is absolutely awful for him: so I would rather be a little high (on a good overall trajectory) and have a happy kitty than too low and ill from bouncing.

Pabay will never go into remission because he has scarring on his pancreas so B cells are damaged.

Also I think he may continue to improve without changing the dose. I hope so anyway. Next curve on Wednesday. DM continues to challenge us!
 
Hi! nice to hear from you :bighug: FWIW, I wouldn't have decreased - you are still seeing some relatively high numbers and have a lot of room to come down. On SLGS, you want to see nadirs between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L).

Also, never say never on remission - I'm all for being a realist but have also seen (in my relatively short time here) kitties go into remission after YEARS on insulin :bighug:

If you do post a new update, you may also want to start a new post (and copy the URL from this one into it for continuity). With so many kitties, the board asks for a new post each day - this way, it's easy for people scanning the board to see "today's news".
 
Thanks Susanne. I needed a good night's sleep without worrying. Also I am using a pet meter not a human one.

17.7 pre shot this morning so back to 1.5 today.
 
According to SLGS, it's time to move to 1.75 units. AT or human meter, the nadirs are too high. We still use the same numbers goals with either meter. In other words, nadirs between 90 and 149 so you've got lots of room to increase.
 
Hi! nice to hear from you :bighug: FWIW, I wouldn't have decreased - you are still seeing some relatively high numbers and have a lot of room to come down. On SLGS, you want to see nadirs between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L).

Also, never say never on remission - I'm all for being a realist but have also seen (in my relatively short time here) kitties go into remission after YEARS on insulin :bighug:

If you do post a new update, you may also want to start a new post (and copy the URL from this one into it for continuity). With so many kitties, the board asks for a new post each day - this way, it's easy for people scanning the board to see "today's news".
Sorry - being a bit dense here. How do I copy the link into a new thread as I have some questions? Thanks.
 
Back
Top