04/22 Remy AMPS 291 / +5 210 / PMPS 130

His PMPS was 130, the lowest he's been in 3 days.

I'm thinking I will skip this shot (it's due in 10 minutes).

My non sugar cat's stomach is not happy with the diet changes forced on by her brother and has diarrhea so I don't think I can handle much excitement tonight.

Hope that skipping the shot is ok.

Thanks.
 
A lot of times with Lantus, since it does a good job of keeping them more stable, you won't see a big rise and that can make dosing decisions more challenging. I was going to suggest perhaps if you would consider a token dose of .25 for tonight. You would still need to test before you go to bed to make sure things are going well. Would you be able to do that. It's okay if you choose to skip also -- it will deplete the depot... but so will a token dose but just not quite as much. It is okay if you choose to skip too. You are very new to this and are still gathering data. I understand! It's scary.
 
A lot of times with Lantus, since it does a good job of keeping them more stable, you won't see a big rise and that can make dosing decisions more challenging. I was going to suggest perhaps if you would consider a token dose of .25 for tonight. You would still need to test before you go to bed to make sure things are going well. Would you be able to do that. It's okay if you choose to skip also -- it will deplete the depot... but so will a token dose but just not quite as much. It is okay if you choose to skip too. You are very new to this and are still gathering data. I understand! It's scary.
Yes, I will test him tonight at 10 which would be +4. If tomorrow’s AMPS is over 200 should I stick to the 0.75 U?
Thank you, and yes, it’s scary :(
 
Yes, I will test him tonight at 10 which would be +4. If tomorrow’s AMPS is over 200 should I stick to the 0.75 U?
Thank you, and yes, it’s scary :(
A +4 would be perfect! Yes, I would say if you are over 200 then the .75 regular dose would be just fine, but you can always post for moral support, too!
 
And he's eating well, today? So you have no concerns about him eating his dinner tonight?
He’s eating really well!!

His sister (non sugar cat) is the one who is concerning me right now as she has diarrhea and doesn’t want to eat. I think the diet might be to blame but if she is still like this in a few hours I will have to take her to the emergency vet
 
He’s eating really well!!

His sister (non sugar cat) is the one who is concerning me right now as she has diarrhea and doesn’t want to eat. I think the diet might be to blame but if she is still like this in a few hours I will have to take her to the emergency vet
Oh no. I didn't realize it was that serious with her. How long had she not been eating? And she has diarrhea? Do you have any Cerenia or Ondansetron that you could try with her. Or do you have any Pro-Pectalin that you can give her. What else is going on that you would take her to the ER vet? If you really are serious about that then maybe you should really have skipped the shot if you won't be there to monitor. I had no idea... you mentioned diarrhea? Having multiple cats, I totally understand this!
 
Also, do you have any pure meat baby food that you can try to give to coax her to eat a little bit? Gerber or Beech Nut. Ham is very popular. Just a little bit? If she hasn't eaten for three days it would be an emergency, but if she's eaten little bits here and there it's probably not ER time. Do you have any Forti-Flora to sprinkle on her food to coax her to eat? Or parmesan cheese. A lot of cats like the Parm.
 
Oh no. I didn't realize it was that serious with her. How long had she not been eating? And she has diarrhea? Do you have any Cerenia or Ondansetron that you could try with her. Or do you have any Pro-Pectalin that you can give her. What else is going on that you would take her to the ER vet? If you really are serious about that then maybe you should really have skipped the shot if you won't be there to monitor. I had no idea... you mentioned diarrhea? Having multiple cats, I totally understand this!
She started with diarrhea overnight and then threw up a big hairball this morning. She has been in and out of her litterbox all day and she only has a bit of diarrhea come out at a time. She has controlled hyperthyroidism and early renal disease so I switched them both to low phosphorus low carb wet food (they were eating low phosphorus high carb food) and I transitioned him first while we finished the old food and yesterday was her first full day of the new diet. So, I’m hoping it’s just the diet upsetting her stomach.
I tried to give her some fortiflora with some boiled chicken but she didn’t want it…my cats don’t really like Fortiflora
 
Also, do you have any pure meat baby food that you can try to give to coax her to eat a little bit? Gerber or Beech Nut. Ham is very popular. Just a little bit? If she hasn't eaten for three days it would be an emergency, but if she's eaten little bits here and there it's probably not ER time. Do you have any Forti-Flora to sprinkle on her food to coax her to eat? Or parmesan cheese. A lot of cats like the Parm.
I just saw that our replies crossed paths. I boiled some chicken for her and pureed it as I couldn’t find pure chicken baby food (everything had something added to it!)
I will try the parmesan cheese to see if I can coax her. Last night was her last full meal.
 
Well if she ate last night then she should not be in danger of hepatic lipidosis. Any vomiting? I hope not. Maybe she just needs a slower transition to the new diet? What about a little bit of tuna juice (the water off of a can of tuna if you have any around?) Oh, I hope she eats. It's such a worry when the don't eat -- especially a cat with other health conditions. I'm sorry!
 
What are you feeding them now, by the way. I saw in your signature the ProPlan and the FF, but I wasn't sure about the phos/carb percentages for the ProPlan.
 
Well, if she's doing a lot of vomiting and can't keep anything down, then maybe I would take her. But right now she's not eating. I would have thought that maybe throwing up the big hairball would help her to feel better. I only asked about the vomiting in case she was doing a lot of it -- you wouldn't want her to get dehydrated. It doesn't sound like you are at the stage where she gets sub-q fluids at home since she's in early stage renal disease. If I have a cat that's vomiting a lot, I will give Cerenia, but I'm lucky to have a stockpile of it at home. Of course, if the problem persists beyond a day or so, or if other things are involved that are concerning, I would take kitty to the vet. It sounds like your main problem now is getting her to eat. Can she have any of the old food for the time being (like in a separate room like a bathroom?) Just to get her to eat something? Or did you get rid of all of it? And then try again slowly to mix the old and new foods? OBTW, I've been feeding a lot of the Weruva BFF PLAY foods that are low in carbs and in phosphorus. They are pates and there are quite a few flavors. I don't know if you've tried them. Have you seen this list? Click on the Diabetic CKD Foods List and you will see a lot of food options (sorry this is not helpful in the short term, but just another bunch of food options and information.)
https://www.bizave.com/foodlists/Combined_Food_Lists_Feeding_Guide.pdf
 
Well, if she's doing a lot of vomiting and can't keep anything down, then maybe I would take her. But right now she's not eating. I would have thought that maybe throwing up the big hairball would help her to feel better. I only asked about the vomiting in case she was doing a lot of it -- you wouldn't want her to get dehydrated. It doesn't sound like you are at the stage where she gets sub-q fluids at home since she's in early stage renal disease. If I have a cat that's vomiting a lot, I will give Cerenia, but I'm lucky to have a stockpile of it at home. Of course, if the problem persists beyond a day or so, or if other things are involved that are concerning, I would take kitty to the vet. It sounds like your main problem now is getting her to eat. Can she have any of the old food for the time being (like in a separate room like a bathroom?) Just to get her to eat something? Or did you get rid of all of it? And then try again slowly to mix the old and new foods? OBTW, I've been feeding a lot of the Weruva BFF PLAY foods that are low in carbs and in phosphorus. They are pates and there are quite a few flavors. I don't know if you've tried them. Have you seen this list? Click on the Diabetic CKD Foods List and you will see a lot of food options (sorry this is not helpful in the short term, but just another bunch of food options and information.)
https://www.bizave.com/foodlists/Combined_Food_Lists_Feeding_Guide.pdf
Yes, thank you, I printed the list so I can buy what’s best for them.
I still have cans of the old renal diet (they are good for hypo kit as they are 22% carb) so I will feed her that and just ran out to get pure pumpkin puree as I read that can help with diarrhea as well?
Thank you for all the information that wasn’t even for my Remy!!
 
You're very welcome. Yes, if she will eat the pumpkin, it is high in fiber and can sometimes help with diarrhea. I buy freeze dried pumpkin and some of my cats will eat it mixed in their food and some will not. I've been giving my kitty Ginger a little (very little) boneless skinless sardines lately and she loves it. I feel like I could use it in an emergency to get her to eat. The other food she will eat when she is sick is Fancy Feast Savory Salmon Feast (usually, I don't feed fish to my cats on a regular basis, but she does eat that when she's ill.) She also struggles with diarrhea due to medications that she absolutely must have -- so I have to be very careful (and slow) about dietary changes. Update on how both kitties are doing when you can.
 
You're very welcome. Yes, if she will eat the pumpkin, it is high in fiber and can sometimes help with diarrhea. I buy freeze dried pumpkin and some of my cats will eat it mixed in their food and some will not. I've been giving my kitty Ginger a little (very little) boneless skinless sardines lately and she loves it. I feel like I could use it in an emergency to get her to eat. The other food she will eat when she is sick is Fancy Feast Savory Salmon Feast (usually, I don't feed fish to my cats on a regular basis, but she does eat that when she's ill.) She also struggles with diarrhea due to medications that she absolutely must have -- so I have to be very careful (and slow) about dietary changes. Update on how both kitties are doing when you can.
I remembered I had a Stella & Chewy’s Turkey pate and I checked the ingredients and it even has pumpkin and bone broth - she ate it!!! Now let’s hope she doesn’t throw up.
This one is good for Remy too it seems.
 
I remembered I had a Stella & Chewy’s Turkey pate and I checked the ingredients and it even has pumpkin and bone broth - she ate it!!! Now let’s hope she doesn’t throw up.
This one is good for Remy too it seems.
Oh, this is GREAT to hear that she ate! I'm going to check that out. Thanks. It might be good for my cats too (especially Ginger.) No ER visit for you tonight :-)
 
Oh, this is GREAT to hear that she ate! I'm going to check that out. Thanks. It might be good for my cats too (especially Ginger.) No ER visit for you tonight :)
Remy was 314 at what would have been +4 but I didn't give him any insulin this PM. We'll start again tomorrow at 6am.

Malik has eaten a little bit and no throwing up. I hope I get a bit of sleep tonight! Thanks again for everything today.
 
Back
Top