04/21 Lucy PMPS 176 +2 115

Status
Not open for further replies.

SugarFreeLucy

Member Since 2012
Morning!

Well Miss Lucy decided to test me last night, she gave me a reading of 49 just before bedtime! :shock: That was the first time I had ever seen the meter read that low! She was acting 'normally' but I know that can change all too quickly. I fed her a can of FF which she scarfed down. I re-checked and she was up to 70 after the food. I left another 1/2 can of FF out for her overnight. Hubby checked on her (he doesn't test- so checked means made sure she was responsive and nothing looked 'off') before he left for work which was about 3 hours after I last checked and said all looked ok....not the most reliable method but I take what help I can get!

Here is yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=69125

This morning the food was still in the dish (a tad unusual) but perhaps it was because she normally doesnt have food overnight. When I fed her brekkie, she ate very little of the Grreat Choice (weird because she usally polishes the bowl for me) I gave her some FF and she ate about 1/3 of the can. I am hoping this is just her being picky nd not a sign of something else....she is acting fine, no other issues...I will put a new flavour in her auto feeder and see if maybe she just doesn't care for the flavours I was giving her.

The only change is that she has finished her Clavamox that she was taking for her suspected tooth infection....maybe that is a contributing factor?!?!

Hope everyone enjoys the day...it is gray and a little rainy here, but not too bad!
 
Re: 04/21 Lucy AMPS 203

I don't know if you saw Jill's post last night. If you're cat is in lower numbers, it's best to set an alarm and re-test. Even with feeding, numbers may come up but then come back down as the food wears off.

If Lucy has an infected tooth, why is the vet hesitating re. doing a dental?
 
Re: 04/21 Lucy AMPS 203 +2 162 +3 133 +5 122

I did see the post, but not until this morning! Next time I will set the alarm for sure.

The vet is hesitant to do dental for a couple of reasons...first we were hoping that the tooth would come out on its own as when she was first diagnosed, it seemed like it would come out anyday. Also, because the surgery will require Lucy to miss breffis, the vet wanted to see some better numbers before attempting this. And finally it is a bit of a financial issue, apparently I'm being told it won't be as expensive as when her civvie sis had teeth removed (~$800) since we know which tooth we are having struggles with and so the hospitalization time would be shorter and she would require less time under sedation.

I will question the vet again on Monday when I check in with her. I dropped off a copy of Lucy's SS today so that the vet has all of the numbers for when we talk.
 
Re: 04/21 Lucy AMPS 203 +2 162 +3 133 +5 122

I'm sorry I didn't check back in on you last night.....I had something come up and didn't get back on the board so I'm glad Barb and Jill were there and that you saw Jill's note this morning.

Whenever you do get a low PS number, even if you shoot a BCS, it's best to get a +1 and +2 test. You are building data which is great. If you have the ability to test at night....even setting the alarm and getting up,
it's probably good to start learning to shoot the blue numbers and higher greens with a full dose. As I said last night, it's best to do it if one of us can stay up with you and guide you through it. She responded
well last night to the food so you got a good bit of data out of that!

Next time she gives you a low blue or a green PS, stall a minute, don't feed her, post and see if someone is around to help you shoot the full dose or at least to discuss the options. And then get the +1 and +2.
For lantus kitties, we recommend that you don't quit testing at night until you get a couple of rising, non food influenced numbers. So that often involves sleep testing where you set the alarm to get up and test.

Nice day stacking up!!!
 
Re: 04/21 Lucy AMPS 203 +2 162 +3 133 +5 122

welcome, from my Lucy to yours. :mrgreen:

Your Lucy is doing great! The 49 last night also earned her a dose reduction. 0.75 units BID would be the new dose. Good luck with the reduction!
 
Libby and Lucy said:
welcome, from my Lucy to yours. :mrgreen:

Your Lucy is doing great! The 49 last night also earned her a dose reduction. 0.75 units BID would be the new dose. Good luck with the reduction!

NIce to meet your Lucy as well! She is beautiful.

Thanks for the encouragement! Yay! Something positive from the 49 that almost gave me heart failure lol. Will start her dose reduction tomorrow.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top