04/20 (increase) Bubba AMPS 259; +6 167; PMPS 263

bubbasmom (GA)

Member Since 2022
Yesterday

Started the day off with another yellow.
Increased dose to 8U as recommended by @Wendy&Neko since Bubba hasn’t seen much blue in these recent increases :blackeye::(:nailbiting:
Boy loves to stress his mama!

Going to the vet today to follow up with a variety of things… Bubba’s phosphorous levels; bupe Rx; other Rx refills; possible teeth cleaning (lots of build up unfortunately).
 
Bubba went down to 9.3mmol!

Vet update:
  • Bubba's BP was 198/101 (average of 3 different readings) :( amlodipine has been increased to a full tab, 1.25mg instead of half tab; poor guy
  • urinalysis: proteinuria, some RBCs, low specific gravity - going to reAx in 3 weeks after Bubba has been on the increased dose of amlodipine, to see if hypertension was the cause for proteinuria & RBCs; lower glucosuria at 50 (was 100 before and 1000 at the time of his diagnosis!); if proteins & RBCs are still present - it will mean something else is at play
  • fructosamine was 300something - indicates Bubba has better regulated sugars
  • phosphorus = NORMAL (was high previous BW & has always been in normal range) - going to reAx in 3 weeks
  • potassium = normal, stable & has been last two BWs, pausing Thera-K for now - reAx in 3 weeks
  • we don't think acromegaly is at play; will Ax for IAA in 3 weeks
  • going to Ax teeth too - after the BW, BP reading & urine expression Bubba was having none of it, so his vet couldn't take a good look at this teeth LOL; going to send vet pics of teeth & gums - will Ax for cleaning & timeline of same
After his "ordeal" this morning, Bubba boy came home to a nice big snack and some freshly steamed fish, and has been relaxing since; got snippy when I checked his BGs - just gonna let him relax now hahaha
 
Great news on the phosphorus, potassium, and fructosamine. Though next time I'd save my money on the latter. It tests average (which doesn't tell you the range) and your testing is a better idea of how he's doing.

we don't think acromegaly is at play; will Ax for IAA in 3 weeks
Why not? He's over 6 units total dose. 1/4 of all diabetic cats has acromegaly according to recent research. And some of those are on smaller doses. That same research study showed the average acro dose was 7 units, but ranging from 1 unit and a lot higher. The majority of acros (65%) do not show clinical signs at diagnosis. If not acro, then definitely IAA - one of those two conditions is causing his insulin resistance. And with the shipping costs from here, it's better to do both tests at once. I can give you links to papers if you want to share with the vet. A lot of vets "of a certain age" were taught "this is acromegaly, you'll never see it". My previous vet and current one for example, but both were willing to learn.

Sorry about the BP, proteinuria and possible kidney issues. BTW, all classic symptoms of acromegaly. Along with arthritis. Any success on the buprenorphine front?
 
The paper linked in post 7 is a good start for the vet: Acromegaly - the basics lots of other articles in that post, though the newest is 2015. I've collected a few since then if you want more.

thank you!

also, re: bupe. I called a few compound pharmacies yesterday and they quoted approx. $150 for bupe as per Bubbas Rx - the same price as the vet. However I found another compound pharmacy just today and they only charge $49 - the $$$ difference is beyond me!
I emailed my vet with this info and am waiting her response … at the appointment today she said only the vet office could compound it since it’s sublingual, or has to do with the way they compound it/the way it’s prescribed? But the compound pharmacy I called today said they can compound bupe into any form - topical gel, PO/swallowable, tablet, oral liquid, sublingual, etc.
 
Back
Top