I discovered this forum about 2 weeks ago and have been reading and learning. Have a spreadsheet (link in signature). Was going to introduce myself and Ruarach soon. Ruarach is a 17 year old, 10 pound, male neutered cat who was diagnosed with kidney disease over a year ago, and in mid March was diagnosed with diabetes.
I just got a very low PMPS blood glucose reading of 113. I repeated it a few minutes later and got a reading of 120. Repeated 30 min after 1st reading: got 132; had fed him a little about 5 min after first rdg. Those readings were with Relion Classic Premier. (I got out my AlphaTrak2 about 50 min after first reading; it gave a 145.)
This is from a cat who has been in 300s, 400s, and higher; never below 300 until this morning.
Ruarach has been at 3 units of Lantus insulin for 2 weeks (initially diagnosed March 13; have ramped up from 1 unit to 2 unit to 3 units.
The 113 reading made me panic - not sure I should give him 3 units this evening. So, I gave him some food - then read https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/ and realized I probably shouldn't have fed him.
=====
Stopped panicking as much and read through the SLGS/TR page more carefully, and in particular, this section:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
===
If anyone reads this later, I'd love feedback about whether this was the best choice. What else could I have done/considered/thought about, etc
Also, what should I do on Sunday? Should I lower his insulin dose if his reading is under 250? Maybe with trying to lower carbs in his diet, the 3 units of Lantus is too much for him.
Background.
You can see from his spreadsheet his blood glucose readings have been very high. I wondered if he was insulin resistant and I had a urine sample taken Tues and the urine culture came back negative for infection.
I have been working toward moving him to a lower carb diet the last few days in particular. Ruarach also has kidney disease, and my vet feels too high of a protein diet would be detrimental to the kidney disease. (I'm a little less concerned, as long as I'm feeding a high quality animal protein, but probably won't go as low carb as I would if he simply had diabetes.) So the diet transition may be part of the reason why his PMPS blood glucose reading was so low.
I also started PhosBind last night but I doubt that has anything to do with his low blood glucose reading (his phosphorus levels have been increasing due to his kidney disease, and last blood work, reached a point where guidelines suggest using a phosphorus binder).
Usually I feed him right before I do the PMPS blood glucose reading and then give him insulin.
Tonight, about 45 min before the blood glucose reading, I fed him some Purina One Grain Free canned food - this was a new food for him, given for the first time. This I believe is very low carbs. But I didn't feed him right before the PMPS blood glucose reading. So he hadn't had any carbs for a while before the blood glucose reading.
I just got a very low PMPS blood glucose reading of 113. I repeated it a few minutes later and got a reading of 120. Repeated 30 min after 1st reading: got 132; had fed him a little about 5 min after first rdg. Those readings were with Relion Classic Premier. (I got out my AlphaTrak2 about 50 min after first reading; it gave a 145.)
This is from a cat who has been in 300s, 400s, and higher; never below 300 until this morning.
Ruarach has been at 3 units of Lantus insulin for 2 weeks (initially diagnosed March 13; have ramped up from 1 unit to 2 unit to 3 units.
The 113 reading made me panic - not sure I should give him 3 units this evening. So, I gave him some food - then read https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/ and realized I probably shouldn't have fed him.
=====
Stopped panicking as much and read through the SLGS/TR page more carefully, and in particular, this section:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
- Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
===
If anyone reads this later, I'd love feedback about whether this was the best choice. What else could I have done/considered/thought about, etc
Also, what should I do on Sunday? Should I lower his insulin dose if his reading is under 250? Maybe with trying to lower carbs in his diet, the 3 units of Lantus is too much for him.
Background.
You can see from his spreadsheet his blood glucose readings have been very high. I wondered if he was insulin resistant and I had a urine sample taken Tues and the urine culture came back negative for infection.
I have been working toward moving him to a lower carb diet the last few days in particular. Ruarach also has kidney disease, and my vet feels too high of a protein diet would be detrimental to the kidney disease. (I'm a little less concerned, as long as I'm feeding a high quality animal protein, but probably won't go as low carb as I would if he simply had diabetes.) So the diet transition may be part of the reason why his PMPS blood glucose reading was so low.
I also started PhosBind last night but I doubt that has anything to do with his low blood glucose reading (his phosphorus levels have been increasing due to his kidney disease, and last blood work, reached a point where guidelines suggest using a phosphorus binder).
Usually I feed him right before I do the PMPS blood glucose reading and then give him insulin.
Tonight, about 45 min before the blood glucose reading, I fed him some Purina One Grain Free canned food - this was a new food for him, given for the first time. This I believe is very low carbs. But I didn't feed him right before the PMPS blood glucose reading. So he hadn't had any carbs for a while before the blood glucose reading.
Last edited: