04/13 - Zokni - AMPS=300, +1= 281, +3.5=176, +4.5=134

Zsofi & Zokni

Member Since 2020
Good morning!

Yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/04-12-zokni-pmps-157-1-171.228228/

Skipped last night (PMPS+1=171), AMPS= 300 (1U, LC wet food), +1= 281, +3.5=176, +4.5=134

You don't yet have very much data to work with, though, so even though the second test was encouraging and 171 is reasonably high, I don't think I would have encouraged you to shoot on a night when you wouldn't be able to do much monitoring.

I didn't shoot and he was up to 300 by the morning.
I'm more prepared now, so I'll do my best not to skip any shots. I guess when the 3U's depot clears and he's fully on wet (couple more days to go), I'll be able to see more clearly. He's really all over the place right now.

On this forum, we use 150 as the "stop, don't feed, and post for help" number. At that time, change the subject on your first post to say something like "help - do I shoot" and change the prefix to a "?". Whether you shoot depends on your comfort level, meaning what data you have so far on shooting lower numbers, your ability to monitor for several hours, and ability to control the numbers with high carb food and plenty of test strips. Other options are to delay without feeding until he gets to a number you feel comfortable shooting, and shooting a smaller dose. Eventually, once you have the experience and data to do so, you can shoot lower numbers.

Got it! Thanks Wendy! I'm prepared now with the high carb food, so I'll be more confident in the future :)
 
Hi Zsofi,

nice blues for for Mr Zokni!

Wild Freedom is another of the brands I use, nice quality.(I forgot about that one)
I've just calculated the calories I feed George, about 235 cal a day, he gets one 75g tin of Thrive complete in the morning (8am) and one tin of 200g Granatapet symphonie/Terra Faelis/Wild Freedom/Ferringa split in numerous regular meals during the day. He is in remission at the moment and the regular snacks are given, to be kind to his pancreas and keep it ticking along nicely. He is an old guy (20yrs old approx) and even lazier than your average cat

Interestingly George had been on a 'dry prescription diet' from the vet prior to his diabetes diagnosis, to try to get him to loose weight, he got up to 9kg, after spending some months with a friend, he begged, she felt sorry and gave him more food (he was only on 65g of the prescription food), by the time we came home, he had gone from just over 7kg to 9kg. :-( On the Rx diet he lost some weight, but minimal, was hungry and miserable all the time, and then he lost weight just prior to diagnosis. Now all my cats have a low carb wet diet. The Wet diet suits George, he is satisfied and happy.

Here is a breakdown of how I feed George during the day (This schedule, is not ideal for a cat that is still on insulin/Lantus While they are on Lantus you probably want to make sure that he gets most/if not all of his food in the first half of the cycle, I would rarely feed after +7 when George was on insulin feeding late in the latter half of the cycle can make the numbers rise undesirably for PS)

Thrive 75g 8am
1x200g can spread out as follows during the course of the day.
1 teaspoon 11am
1 teaspoon 2pm
1 teaspoon 5pm
4 teaspoon 8pm
1 teaspoon 11pm
1 teaspoon 2am
1 teaspoon 5am

I have an automated feeder, so I can leave his snacks in that overnight or when I am out. I got mine from Zooplus, you might want to look into getting one, if your guy is a good eater and doesn't need encouraging, it is a useful tool to keep him safe while you sleep or if you have to go out. I have two types, one that rotates and can serve up to 4 meals and a double feeder that has icepack and just stays open. The rotating one is really good if you want to leave him a snack in the night, I used to set it to rotate and hide his food two hours before his PS so that I would know that he had not eaten in the two hours prior to PS test.


There is a calculation for the amount of calories a cat should usually have, the idea is you use this as a starting point, monitor weight and adjust the intake up or down if necessary. The link to the site below, if you haven't come across it is great it discusses weight management for your kitty, the formula below shows how you can calculate calories to feed your overweight cat an amount that will help him loose weight safely.
When George was on insulin, there were times that I would have to feed him a lot more because his blood sugar was dropping and I had to keep him safe, just be aware that you may need to do that at times, while he is on insulin.
Dr Lisa, has an interesting section on transitioning on her site too.



From Catinfo.org
If your cat weighs 18 pounds but really should weigh 12 pounds, please make sure that he is consuming ~180 calories per day. (12 pounds lean body mass X 15 calories/pound/day = ~180 calories/day)
 
Back
Top