04/13 Furball, AMPS=259, +2=211, +4=137, PMPS=372 Bounce?

Status
Not open for further replies.

carfurby (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=68529

I'm glad Furball's AMPS is not high. I am going to do the curve today so I can discuss it with my vet at tomorrow's appointment.
 
Re: 04/13 Furball, AMPS=259, +2=211, +4=137

I'm glad I am home today to be able to do this curve for Furball. That +4 could explain some of her high numbers recently. If she has been going that low on days when I have not been able to test, she could have bounced.
 
Re: 04/13 Furball, AMPS=259, +2=211, +4=137

if so, you should be able to see it by the end of the day today. it's possible that could explain the higher numbers.

enjoy your friday/day off!
 
Re: 04/13 Furball, AMPS=259, +2=211, +4=137, PMPS=372 Bounce

Here is a summary of the curve I did today.

AMPS=259
+2=211
+4=137
+5=134
+6=139
+8=194
+10=366
PMPS=372

Do you think this is a bounce? If she is getting that low, and then bouncing, I don't want to give her a dose increase right now.
 
Re: 04/13 Furball, AMPS=259, +2=211, +4=137, PMPS=372 Bounce

most of it doesn't look like a bounce. i would say the cycle was pretty nice until the end. if she's higher than 372 tonight and keeps going up, then she could be bouncing from the 130s today. if she has another regular curve tonight, then the 372 isn't a bounce.

here's your reference from the SLGS plan. it would have you holding the dose for another week and doing another curve next weekend. if you were following the TR protocol, you would increase the dose by .25u.

Step 3. After 1-2 weeks at a given dose, you or your vet should perform a serial blood glucose curve (blood glucose tests every 2 hours, starting at shot time and continuing until the next shot). Follow the cat’s normal feeding schedule during the curve. The curve should be evaluated by someone experienced at interpreting feline blood glucose curves, in order to check for signs of rebound and other possible problems. If no rebound is present, follow these guidelines for dose adjustment (smaller adjustments may be appropriate for cats on PZI or Lantus):
a) If the lowest point of the curve is above 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
b) If the lowest point of the curve is between 90 and 149 mg/dl (5.0 and 8.2 mmol/L), keep the dose the same.
c) If the lowest point of the curve is below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.5 unit.
Step 4. Repeat the cycle of curving and waiting 1-2 weeks. As your cat’s blood glucose begins to fall mostly in the desired range [lowest point of the curve approaching 100 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) and pre-shot value around or below 300 mg/dl (16.6 mmol/L)], do lengthen the waiting time between dose increases. If you decide to change another factor (e.g., diet or other medications), don’t increase the insulin dose until the other change is complete (but do decrease the dose if your cat's glucose numbers consistently fall below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L) as a result of the change). Don’t be tempted to rush the process along by increasing the dose more quickly or in larger increments-- no matter how high your cat’s blood glucose is! Rushing towards regulation will cost you time in the long run, because you may shoot past the right dose.

Step 5. Once you can no longer increase the dose without the cat dropping below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L) at the lowest point, evaluate the duration of the insulin’s action. If your cat’s preshot blood glucose values are still consistently above 350 mg/dl (19.3 mmol/L), or if your cat’s blood glucose usually returns to preshot values more than an hour before the next shot is due, ask your vet about longer-duration insulins or possible adjustments to your cat’s food or feeding schedule.

That’s it — 5 steps! These steps are general guidelines that work for the majority of cats. Because every cat is different and exceptional situations may arise, your cat’s progress should be closely monitored by someone with experience regulating feline diabetics.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top