04/11 Boomer AMPS 193 +2.5 200 +6 173, PMPS 148 +3 122 dental tomorrow

Status
Not open for further replies.

Judy and Boomer

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
Good morning!
Early posting this morning; DH has a dentist appt early and I have a cake smash session this morning. Will post AMPS in about half an hour.

Boomer let me sleep last night. He ate all of his +3 and the extra fuds but left some in each of +6 and +9.

Allen ate well last night.

Today I have a cake smash session at +3 so I will be testing Boomer around +2.5.

Tomorrow is Boomer's dental. We need to have him there bright and early of course and it's about a 25-30 minute drive (his dentals are not done by Dr Larry anymore) so I may not have time to post before we leave. If you have any spare vines please send them :cat::nailbiting: I haven't decided how much insulin to give Boomer tonight; he can eat up until his PM+9 snack (5:00 tomorrow morning). Suggestions? @Wendy&Neko?
 
Yesterday
Good morning!
Early posting this morning; DH has a dentist appt early and I have a cake smash session this morning. Will post AMPS in about half an hour.

Boomer let me sleep last night. He ate all of his +3 and the extra fuds but left some in each of +6 and +9.

Allen ate well last night.

Today I have a cake smash session at +3 so I will be testing Boomer around +2.5.

Tomorrow is Boomer's dental. We need to have him there bright and early of course and it's about a 25-30 minute drive (his dentals are not done by Dr Larry anymore) so I may not have time to post before we leave. If you have any spare vines please send them :cat::nailbiting: I haven't decided how much insulin to give Boomer tonight; he can eat up until his PM+9 snack (5:00 tomorrow morning). Suggestions? @Wendy&Neko?
Be interested to hear how you get on. A dental is in Silver's near future.
 
I'm glad Boomer let you sleep last night. Sending early dental vines. I always skipped Furball's dose the morning of a dental, but maybe 1.0 units would work with Boomer.
 
If you have any spare vines please send them :cat::nailbiting: I haven't decided how much insulin to give Boomer tonight; he can eat up until his PM+9 snack (5:00 tomorrow morning).

Vines aplenty, coming your way!!!!

I'm interested in the food recommendation-- was this your vet's suggestion, to let him eat his early-morning snack? Usually they say nothing after midnight for an anesthesia, any wiggle room in that for a diabetic kitty would be really really helpful. I know there is some flexibility-- one of my civvies was so upset at being fasted before a dental, he located, opened (never did that before), and ate most of a bag of freeze-dried chicken treats the morning of a dental :banghead:, but when I called the vet to ask if I should still bring him in they weren't that concerned (and the dental went fine).
 
I'm glad Boomer let you sleep last night. Sending early dental vines. I always skipped Furball's dose the morning of a dental, but maybe 1.0 units would work with Boomer.
I will definitely be skipping the dose tomorrow morning since he can't eat. After having seen the AMPS, I'm pretty sure he will get a full dose tonight.
 
Dental vines for Boomer and hugs for the beans. Did they not tell you how much insulin to give? Can you ask them? When considering Smokey's dental I was told have dose, but he never ended up having a dental.
 
Vines aplenty, coming your way!!!!

I'm interested in the food recommendation-- was this your vet's suggestion, to let him eat his early-morning snack? Usually they say nothing after midnight for an anesthesia, any wiggle room in that for a diabetic kitty would be really really helpful. I know there is some flexibility-- one of my civvies was so upset at being fasted before a dental, he located, opened (never did that before), and ate most of a bag of freeze-dried chicken treats the morning of a dental :banghead:, but when I called the vet to ask if I should still bring him in they weren't that concerned (and the dental went fine).
Yes it's normally no food after midnight but with diabetics they usually allow them to eat for most of the night before.
 
Many dental vines for Boomer.

I have read here some vets say give none, some a half dose, some the full dose will small snack. Be interesting to see because if he gets his +9 that night then he should be able to have some shouldn't he?
 
The last time Boomer had a dental, I gave the full shot the night before. But his numbers were very bad at that time.
Two dentals ago I skipped the shot the night before....but his PM (night before) test was just barely blue.
Boomer's PMPS numbers lately have been mid blue. I may give half a shot. idk. I guess I won't really know until PMPS tonight.
 
Sending mega dental vines for tomorrow. I looked back to Bubba's SS the time before last cleaning ( last cleaning his was OTJ) and I skipped the morning of the dental as he was in the greens then. Depending on how high Boomer is tomorrow morning, you might want to give a token shot . See what others say.
 
Dental/vetty vines for Boomer.:cat:

I gave Gizmo 1/2 dose but I shoot @ 4:30a and his dental was around 11a (past nadir). He also got to eat his PS (6 hours before dental).

Please keep us posted tomorrow :bighug:
 
Sorry, had a day with the 95 year old parental units so late getting on the board.

Glad you shot the full dose tonight. I typically shot 1/2 dose in the AM, except one time my spidey senses were tingling on a low blue and I just did a token 0.1U. Neko hit 70's on the AT at the dental vet that day. :eek: Make sure you test when he gets home, so you know if he's dropping into PMPS due to anesthesia. Some induction drugs lower the BG, and it might impact what you shoot tomorrow night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top