04/10 Furball, AMPS=289, PMPS=404

Status
Not open for further replies.

carfurby (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=68293

Furball didn't want to eat very much this morning. She is acting like she doesn't feel very good. I gave Furball her regular dose of insulin. She ate enough for that, but I didn't feel comfortable increasing the dose since she didn't eat very well.
 
Re: 04/10 Furball, AMPS=289

Sending eating vines and feel better vines to Furball.
 
Re: 04/10 Furball, AMPS=289

Hi guys .. aww, I'm sorry to hear furball isn't feeling well today .. it's important they eat, so keep an eye on her ok?
 
Furball still didn't seem to want to eat this evening at first. I gave her 9 Lives Tuna & Egg. She took a few bites and started to try and bury it. I took that away and gave her some 9 Lives Super Supper and she ate some of that. I think she may be tired of the Tuna & Egg. I will find out tomorrow morning if that is all it is when I give her Super Supper. Hopefully she will eat as much as she usually does. I still didn't increase the dose of Lantus because she still didn't eat like she usually does. If she is eating well again tomorrow, I plan to increase the does 0.25 units to 1.75 units.
 
Have you been checking Furball for ketones? If not, I would buy some ketone test strips tonight and rule that out.
I am still sending eating vines to Furball, and adding on a heap of good appetite vines for tomorrow morning.
 
mmmm, let's brainstorm some ways to get furball to eat, carla. that's really important. here are some things i've seen people suggest:

try another low carb food - some cats like variety and if i remember correctly, this is what she's been eating since you switched her to canned food. the Binky's list is on the "new to the group" sticky if you need carb counts for other foods

sprinkle oregano, catnip, parmesan cheese on her food

warm up the food

add a pinch of tuna or one of the freeze-dried low carb meat treats

use your finger to work some into her mouth and try to "prime the pump" and get her interested

how much is she eating compared to normal? 50%, 75%, 90% or ?
 
btw, i want to encourage you to use your subject line to ask questions - anytime there's something out of the ordinary, it's perfectly ok for you to ask for input.

does she act like she hurts anywhere, like can you feel around her tummy and does she mind? does she act like she's nauseous - licking her lips, or trying to eat and then moving away from it?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top