04/10 Bambi AMPS 215, +2 174, +4 153, +5 180, +6 193, +8 249, +10 254, PMPS +11.5 282

Caglar and Bambi

Member Since 2023
Previous thread

Hi everyone. It's been a week since Bambi's last reduction to 1u and her BG levels have been slightly elevated (yellows, blues and occasional pinks) but much more balanced these previous few days. I have also transitioned her food to a combination of around %50 dry (Proplan Diabetic - 16% carbs) and %50 wet food (3-5% carbs) over the last few days which might also explain the balance.

I took a full 12-hour curve today and her recorded nadir was just over 150 at 153. According to the SLGS protocol, I should make an increase but since the number is right at the border, and since I plan to slowly transition to 100% low-carb wet food these following days, I thought maybe it would be better to keep the dose the same and monitor for a few more days to a week?

Would appreciate it if you took a look at her numbers and gave some feedback. Thanks.
 
She’s getting down to 116 and maybe lower at night so hold the dose. It would be really good if you could set an alarm for +5 or +6 next time that happens.
 
Is Pro Plan Dry only 16% carbs? I thought it was higher, but I could be wrong. With a food change in the picture, you might actually find her earning reductions! :-)
 
She’s getting down to 116 and maybe lower at night so hold the dose. It would be really good if you could set an alarm for +5 or +6 next time that happens.

Yes you're correct, that happened soon after I wrote this post. Ok, I will try to get a mid-cycle reading at night. She is probably going lower at nights since I feed her 4-5 times during the day but not during the night.
 
Is Pro Plan Dry only 16% carbs? I thought it was higher, but I could be wrong. With a food change in the picture, you might actually find her earning reductions! :)

Yeah, it should be around that. This is specific to the Diabetes Proplan food called Proplan DM. The one we have here in Turkey doesn't list moisture but I found the carb value somewhere. Apparently, the new ones in the States are even a bit lower: https://www.proplanvetdirect.com/dry-dm-dietetic-management (12.84%) Still higher than ideal but I guess that's the lowest they can get on dry food.

Yes, thanks, I hope she will stabilize even more and earn further reductions. I've started wet on my other 2 cats too. Still hunting for more affordable alternatives to get all 3 of my cats on 100% low-carb wet food. Btw, I am checking for Diarehha and other signs after food changes on all cats but they seem to be doing fine. Do you think it's ok to change wet food brands and types with similar carb levels once in a while since sometimes it's difficult to find the same ones?
 
Yeah, it should be around that. This is specific to the Diabetes Proplan food called Proplan DM. The one we have here in Turkey doesn't list moisture but I found the carb value somewhere. Apparently, the new ones in the States are even a bit lower: https://www.proplanvetdirect.com/dry-dm-dietetic-management (12.84%) Still higher than ideal but I guess that's the lowest they can get on dry food.
Yes. Based on the GA on that site, it does look like around 13% carbs. Not as bad as I thought!


Do you think it's ok to change wet food brands and types with similar carb levels once in a while since sometimes it's difficult to find the same ones?
Of course! You can feed any canned food as long as it's low carb.
 
Back
Top