04/09 Pumpkin AMPS 366 +6 188

Shell

Member Since 2022
First time posting in this format, so I hope I am posting correctly.

I performed a curve on Pumpkin yesterday. Numbers were elevated. I confirmed with my Vet and now he is going from 1.5 to 1.7. Already today, it's down down from where it was. And, hasn't been for a long time. This is always the barrier where it gets scary for me and I tend to want to decrease now that he's coming down. And, then I have had to start all over when I decrease and it goes up.

So, in anticipation of the inevitable, that is I am going to see the numbers go down to healthy numbers. I've asked before, but I am just trying to ease my fears about dosing... so that I can proceed with confidence. If the dose I gave this morning can lower the blood glucose close to 200 points, will it still lower glucose an additional 200 points if and when PMPS reads at, say 190. That is what I stress about, and have always reduced.

I am not sure if this makes sense the way I am saying it. Perhaps I will try another way, in case it didn't. So, does the high number reduce more than the nadir? Meaning, does the nadir continue to drop a long with the high number? I would hate to make any kind of mistake with my precious kitty. But, I don't want to withhold what he needs to be healthy either. :bookworm::nailbiting:
 
Welcome to the LBL forum :-)

I'm linking your last 2 posts on the Main/Health Forum for continuity:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/pick-up-the-food-for-now.288392/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-even-when-numbers-begin-to-get-lower.288018/

Lower numbers can be scary at first, but when you get scared, try to remember that the normal range for blood sugar for a cat with a human meter is 50-100. So it's below 50 that the numbers are too low and you want to bring them up.

Like @Bron and Sheba (GA) said in your previous post, the Science Diet dry food is way too high in carbs. Feeding carbs when giving insulin, is like adding gas to a fire while simultaneously trying to put it out. If he won't eat wet food, there are low carb options in dry food as well – Young Again, Dr. Elsey’s Cleanprotein and Wysong Epigen 90.

Whenever possible, you also want to get some spot checks. Preshots or a weekly curve do not give you the full picture. We've seen cats start a cycle at 400+ and drop to 40. Similarly, if you run a curve on a day when is bouncing, it's easy to think that the dose is not enough whereas he was actually bouncing from lows he saw in the day before.

So, in anticipation of the inevitable, that is I am going to see the numbers go down to healthy numbers. I've asked before, but I am just trying to ease my fears about dosing... so that I can proceed with confidence. If the dose I gave this morning can lower the blood glucose close to 200 points, will it still lower glucose an additional 200 points if and when PMPS reads at, say 190. That is what I stress about, and have always reduced.
This is a very natural fear and all of us have hesitated to shoot lower numbers in the beginning. However, Glargine does not work like that. In fact, it is very good at giving you flat cycles when you shoot lower numbers. With SLGS, the idea is to eventually shoot any number over 90. Next time you encounter a preshot that is lower than you are comfortable shooting, post on this forum. Say something like "Stalling shot! Help" to attract the attention of anyone scanning the Board for people who need help.
 
Welcome to the LBL forum :)

I'm linking your last 2 posts on the Main/Health Forum for continuity:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/pick-up-the-food-for-now.288392/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-even-when-numbers-begin-to-get-lower.288018/

Lower numbers can be scary at first, but when you get scared, try to remember that the normal range for blood sugar for a cat with a human meter is 50-100. So it's below 50 that the numbers are too low and you want to bring them up.

Like @Bron and Sheba (GA) said in your previous post, the Science Diet dry food is way too high in carbs. Feeding carbs when giving insulin, is like adding gas to a fire while simultaneously trying to put it out. If he won't eat wet food, there are low carb options in dry food as well – Young Again, Dr. Elsey’s Cleanprotein and Wysong Epigen 90.

Whenever possible, you also want to get some spot checks. Preshots or a weekly curve do not give you the full picture. We've seen cats start a cycle at 400+ and drop to 40. Similarly, if you run a curve on a day when is bouncing, it's easy to think that the dose is not enough whereas he was actually bouncing from lows he saw in the day before.


This is a very natural fear and all of us have hesitated to shoot lower numbers in the beginning. However, Glargine does not work like that. In fact, it is very good at giving you flat cycles when you shoot lower numbers. With SLGS, the idea is to eventually shoot any number over 90. Next time you encounter a preshot that is lower than you are comfortable shooting, post on this forum. Say something like "Stalling shot! Help" to attract the attention of anyone scanning the Board for people who need help.

Thank you so much!
 
Back
Top