04/07/PMPS 121/+3 115/+4 95/+9.5 104 ... Gabapentin Affects BSL??

nslade001

Member Since 2018
yesterday

Hi everyone, so the mirtz worked wonders for Willow yesterday, with a definite improvement in appetite, as well as improvement in attitude...she's more alert, and definitely more responsive to touch, purring some and pushing in to you. She's even going over to the food prep area to wait for feedings. Plus she actually came to sleep on my pillow by me, which she's done maybe once since diagnosis in November.

But regarding her BSLs, there has been a *definite* change in her BS levels, obviously seen when you look at her nadir columns. (For some reason these columns don't show on her US chart, only her International chart...please take a peek, scroll to the right of the SS before remarks). I've been holding off any dosecrease because I thought it might be because of whatever's going on with her health wise...but this morning I was looking at her chart and realized it started the night we started gabapentin (april 3) and they've been increasing since (also she's slightly less responsive to insulin). I give insulin at 8, gabapentin at 9.

I don't think this would be apparent with most cats, but where Willow has been so well regulated without much variation, it's apparent. So, it's either a coincidence or not. We'll stop giving gabapentin for a few days and see what happens, instead I'll give bupe (since she's on lactulose now anyway, so I'm not so concerned about constipation.)

Has anyone else noticed an increase in BSL with gabapentin? Any thoughts?

Hope you all had a good night, and wishing you and your kitties a great day of safe surfing! With love, Nikki
 
What a wonderful update for Willow! It's so good to hear she's doing better. She still has beautiful numbers, but I'm not sure of the effects of the gaba. It's definitely possible it could affect the BGs, but I'll let the experts chime in there. I hope you both have a wonderful day today!
 
When did you start the gabapentin -- 4/3?

I think there may be a confounding factor. You reduced Lou's dose at the end of March -- and you reduced by a bit more than 0.25u. It looks like the 1.05u dose was doing more for Lou's BG so it's hard to know if what you're seeing is the effect of the gabapentin vs the dose reduction. I'd suggest giving some thought to fattening the dose.

 
In addition to Sienne's observation, is the gab compounded? You can check with the company and make sure there is no sugar or sweetner added.
Hi, it's compounded but it's not a chewable form or tablet, just a pill, so I wouldn't have thought that it would have sweetener...but who knows? I'll check before I start her up on them again...thanks! With love, Nikki
 
Cat Sunday.gif
 
Back
Top