04/06 Daphne'sChallenge AMPS298 +2.5 268 +5 210 PMPS 264 +2 163 +4 132

Daphne'sChallenge

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...4-127-5-204-8-218-pmps238-2-220-4-178.288453/

We finally captured some urine and was able to check Daphne's ketones for the first time. They are not elevated! I purchased CheckUp strips which also indicated that almost everything else looks good with the exception of trace amounts of blood in her urine and high leukocytes (she had a large sarcoma removed from her tail in Jan.).

Going forward, I'm trying to determine if the dose of .75 is appropriate for her. I've been advised that I cannot change that dose for a week after starting it.

We are hoping to get Daph regulated so that the petsitter coming here for 17 days in June will only have to shoot her.
 
Last edited:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/missed-dose.288430/

We finally captured some urine and was able to check Daphne's ketones for the first time. They are not elevated! I purchased CheckUp strips which also indicated that almost everything else looks good with the exception of trace amounts of blood in her urine and high leukocytes (she had a large sarcoma removed from her tail in Jan.).

Going forward, I'm trying to determine if the dose of .75 is appropriate for her. I've been advised that I cannot change that dose for a week after starting it.

We are hoping to get Daph regulated so that the petsitter coming here for 17 days in June will only have to shoot her.

Hi Karen, let me tag a few experienced members for you ,and take a look at your SS
But if you are following the SLGS method then yes you would stay with the 0.75 dose for 7 days then do a curve , if she drops under 90 at any time then you reduce her dose by 0.25 units.
So the sitter won't be testing her in June at all? What about feeding her ?

@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
@Suzanne & Darcy
Thank you ladies , Karen is a new member

Here is her intro thread if that helps
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-25-24-daphne-amps-387-7-62-8-109-dose.288092/
 
Last edited:
Hi. You are following SLGS so you need to wait 7 days before evaluating the dose. It would even be too soon to decide if following the more aggressive TR due to the low 49 and the skipped dose. Cats get regulated on their time and not ours unfortunately. So all you can do is follow tge method and see what she wants to do. As far as the vacation, we will help you figure out a safe vacation dose before you leave. A lot can happen in 17 days. It would be really helpful if you can teach the sitter to at least test before every shot. Any chance of that?
 
Hi Karen, let me tag a few experienced members for you ,and take a look at your SS
But if you are following the SLGS method then yes you would stay with the 0.75 dose for 7 days then do a curve , if she drops under 90 at any time then you reduce her dose by 0.25 units.
So the sitter won't be testing her in June at all? What about feeding her ?

@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
@Suzanne & Darcy
Thank you ladies , Karen is a new member

Here is her intro thread if that helps
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-25-24-daphne-amps-387-7-62-8-109-dose.288092/

Hi Diane. I appreciate your help.
The sitter will live here, feed her, and shoot her. Daphne grazes and is still adjusting to not having dry GlucoSupport out. We find that the AM food only needs some broth to keep her eating on her occasional visits to the bowl. Usually, around +7 or +8, when nothing is left from the AM, she gets another TBL of FF. At bedtime, we give her a small bedtime treat.
 
Hi. You are following SLGS so you need to wait 7 days before evaluating the dose. It would even be too soon to decide if following the more aggressive TR due to the low 49 and the skipped dose. Cats get regulated on their time and not ours unfortunately. So all you can do is follow tge method and see what she wants to do. As far as the vacation, we will help you figure out a safe vacation dose before you leave. A lot can happen in 17 days. It would be really helpful if you can teach the sitter to at least test before every shot. Any chance of that?

I will try to teach him. He's had experience shooting cats and dogs, so maybe he's even tested glucose.
 
No problem at all Karen :cat:
In case you haven't read about how to do the curve after 7 days
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours.
@Daphne'sChallenge

I'll be sure to read up on how to do it. Thanks again. :bighug:
 

Attachments

  • image.png
    image.png
    2 KB · Views: 77
Back
Top