04/06 Bambi PMPS 332, +2 365, +11 392, AMPS 390, +5 344, +8 308, +10 275, PMPS 284

Caglar and Bambi

Member Since 2023
Previous post

Evening everyone. After Bambi's last reduction 3 days ago she dropped a bit to the mid-100s during the first 2 days in mid-cycles and usually around 300s in pre-shots. Today was a bit weird with a relatively high BG (344) at midcycle (+6) and an unusual drop towards the PS at 275, though it was all yellows and purples throughout the day.

Unfortunately, I could not get enough readings as I wanted to but the recorded nadir is still pretty high. If I'm not mistaken I should keep the same dose for 3 more days to finish off a week and then decide on whether to change the dose or not, right? Or because of the high numbers is it better to check tomorrow and raise back by 0.25? Would appreciate some comments and suggestions. Thanks in advance.
 
With SLGS once a reduction is earned you hold the dose for 7 days. Tonight was just cycle 7 of 14. Hold the 1.0 dose.

From the dosing sticky:


After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
As your cat's blood glucose begins to fall mostly in the desired range [lowest point of the curve approaching 100 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) and pre-shot value around or below 300 mg/dl (16.6 mmol/L)], do lengthen the waiting time between dose increases. If you decide to change another factor (e.g., diet or other medications), don't increase the insulin dose until the other change is complete (but decrease the dose if your cat's glucose numbers consistently fall below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L) as a result of the change).
 
Rather than increase the dose, you might want to start that food transition to low carb wet. You might find that she needs less insulin after the diet change.
 
Thanks, @tiffmaxee and @Bandit's Mom. I have actually already started transitioning to wet food, I would say she is getting about a third of her food as wet right now, and it's day 4 today. I will continue to increase wetfood and keep monitoring at the current dose. I guess I will do the full cycle curve in a few days to determine the dose then.
 
Back
Top