? 04/06 bailey uk. can i go up in 0.5u with him being long term?

Status
Not open for further replies.

anna and bailey.uk england

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...n-that-dosing-scale-fast.134991/#post-1392391

hi all. everything good here except baileys bg. it seems really hi at the mo and ive started to go up in .25 doses but im thinking it should be .5 with him being long term diabetic. is this correct? the last thing we want is him getting glucose toxidity again and me getting to 9.5u. (mind u I expect the unexpected now)
he seems fine in himself. ive checked gums etc and all ok. hes not weeing excessively I must point out.so not uti. I work from +5/6 pm every day but I don't think he could drop and go back up that quick whilst im out for it to be too much insulin and bouncing!
 
Hi Anna - I'd stick to .25U increases for now. You only go to .5U increases if he's up to 5 units per dose or if the nadirs are over 300 (on a human meter). What you can do is re-evaluate each dose after 6 cycles and increase after that if he's not getting the nadirs you want. Any chance his scab/wound got infected?
 
no that's healed beautifully after he chewed it off.ewww! I couldn't remember if id read it but now I remember its at higher doses!.hes been so unusually high for the last few days. everything else normal barr the usual eating more,drinking more that comes with high numbers. hes playing the same,cuddles the same so nothing out of the norm here! very odd!
 
Sometimes cats just need to go up in dose, for no particular reason. A couple of weeks ago Neko went from a dose with nadirs in the 70's to seeing high yellow and pink. I've increased her a couple of times since then. I don't know if it's the weather, pollen in the air or what. Just follow what the numbers tell you to do.

I had seen the note about him chewing off his scab - very gross! But had wondered if he'd gotten it infected as a result. Abscesses can hide without a lot of signs. And infection can raise the blood sugar.
 
it does seemed to have healed nicely.skin healed.hair growing over so although I was worried it healed nicely! im guessing (knowing my boy) its for no particular reason were on the up! part of the course. im used his 'UNUSUALNESS' by now ;-) even the vet hasn't a clue what goes on with his body! but I know him and I know hes feeling good cos of his naughtiness its just a case now of getting his bg under control.x
 
Anna, one thing that some people do when they've established that their cat doesn't always hold reductions, is to change their reduction strategy. Some people wait until their cat has 3 times under 68AT before they reduce. Some people just shave a little bit off the dose each time the cat goes below 68AT. You don't mix & match those two strategies, however - if you want to do that, decide which one you're going to do and stick with it for at least a period of time. In other words, don't wait til Bailey has gone below 68 three times and then just shave the dose.

The reason I'm mentioning this is because it does look like Bailey sometimes has trouble holding reductions. He also has a lot of high numbers and then just a drop into normal numbers, rather than long hours in the normal blood sugar range. The goal of Tight Regulation isn't to reduce the dose, it's to get all the blood sugar tightly controlled.

When you reduced his dose on 3/23, he completely failed that reduction. Whenever you're reducing a dose, you want to see the same green numbers in every cycle that you were seeing before the reduction. When you reduce, you also don't have to wait a certain number of cycles before calling it failed and going back up - in fact the guidelines say to go back immediately "to the last good dose."

You're back up to 3.25u now, which I would've said was the last good dose. I'd give it just the 6 cycles to see if you're going to see green again, and if not within 6 cycles, I'd increase the dose to 3.5u.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top