04/05 J.D. PMPS 349 - B12 Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Condo

Last Night:
325 PMPS
291 +6.5
271 +11
Last night I was pretty happy with J.D. as he seemed a little slow when I first got home, but after being outside for a while, he was trotting and galloping around.

He did throw up clear fluid this morning at +11.5, so I gave him some Pepcid. 1st Breffis has been eaten, and 2nd Breffis is due.

I hope everyone has a good day. I hope J.D. continues to go down nice and slowly today, and gives me a good PMPS :-D
 
Re: 04/05 J.D. AMPS 266

Oh, so sorry J.D. had a little pukus episode and hope his tummy is feeling better already. Maybe his AMPS are a little high because of his tummy upset.
 
Re: 04/05 J.D. AMPS 266

Hi guys .. I also hope J.D. is done throwing up and tonight's pmps is a nice one for you! Come on J.D. we know you can do it! I won't be here tomorrow, so have a great weekend!
 
Re: 04/05 J.D. AMPS 266

I'm hoping J.D. is feeling better when I get home. This morning, I gave him some Pepcid when he threw up at +11, and his 1/4 4MG of Ondansetron at his 1st Breffis which he ate all up, no problem.
Then, he didn't want his 2nd Breffis and was licking his lips. I added freeze dried chicken breast, and then bits of steak, and then FortiFlora, and the same reaction. I gave him 1/4 cypro, and added FF Appetiser and he then ate most of the meal. I don't know how to tell if he is having a flare up of pancreatitis or not. Last night he seemed sluggish at first, but then fine and active when we went outside and ate all his meals, and all the leftover meals, last night. Maybe he was just full. Fingers Crossed.
 
Re: 04/05 J.D. PMPS 349

Almost all of the left out food was eaten today, and J.D. ate his 1st Dinner and his 2nd Dinner and we had a nice walk, so I think he's okay. I was told on the FPS (Feline Pancreatitis Support) group that I should probably be proactive and give him the Pepcid at bedtime, rather than wait until he throws up clear fluid in the morning. So, I'll try that.

Kate :YMHUG: It is so nice to see you :-D
I hope you are enjoying life and motherhood.
Miss you much, my friend. Happy Easter !!!
 
Someone else on the FPS group mentioned Vitamin B12 and said something about it being used a lot in the diabetic world. I have never researched it. What is it good for, how much do you give, and where do you get it?
 
Jetta is on B12 and it's done wonders for her. She has pancreatitis attacks at least every 2 months and has IBD and of course FD. As I understand it, B12 acts as a carrier for nutrients. Cats with IBD and pancreatitis have a problem absorbing nutrients from their food. So, supplementing B12 helps them absorb nutrients from the food they eat. It's an injection. Usually the protocol is once a week for 6 weeks. those 6 week pulses can be repeated every few months as needed or, in Jetta's case she receives an injection once per month for life. I do them at home, it's not much different than an insulin shot. The vial is prescription and I think it was $30 for the bottle which will likely outlast her...

For Jetta it has helped her appetite, helped her re-gain weight, and decreased the frequency that I need to use Pepcid. I saw a huge change during both of her 6 week pulses.
 
wow! nice info from jaclyn!

Binks gets the MB12 (powder from capsules) for neuropathy...
and I've been giving it to Smudge as well- I think it eases her digestion...
but have no idea why :oops:

Hoping that you were right, and JD was just full!
 
Dyana said:
Someone else on the FPS group mentioned Vitamin B12 and said something about it being used a lot in the diabetic world. I have never researched it. What is it good for, how much do you give, and where do you get it?

I can comment on pancreatitis and also B12.

Shadoe had frequent issues with pancreatitis, and each fPLI test came back with a result in the teens.
I finally gave up with the expense of the test, and just treated her for the signs.

I used to wait till I saw lip licking to give pepcid, but eventually I just gave her pepcid BID. 1/4tab am and pm, and it helped her a great deal.
If it did not seem to settle her, I always had bupe on hand, and also fluids.
That's the 3 items you need to have onhand at all times.
I saw lip licking, and the pepcid did not help it, plus she seemed off her food, and also hiding, she hid, I gave her a small shot of bupe and plus 50cc fluids.

All the above worked well until I switched to a new vet.. I complained about her problems, and he just smiled and said B12.

I went home with a bottle of pink B12, gave her .25ml (25units) weekly, and then bi-weekly. She had only one mild issue after that time. It helped her so much at the time that I started giving Ollie B12 shots as well! Hey why not? It's good for lots of things and Ollie has always been a flying under the radar guy with pancreatitis, always testing just under the 3.5 cutoff.. maybe 3.2 or even 3.9.

So get fluids, bupe and pepcid on hand, and maybe ask your vet about something more for nausea, plus get a bottle of B12 to give shots.
 
Is there a major difference in the B12 pills Vs B12 injection? I use to have human use B12 pills in hand & give it to my cats.
 
Many vets want to test serum B12 and folate before supplementing. Others will go ahead and prescribe it for cats who have had long term GI , especially IBD, issues. For GI purposes, you want cyanocobalamin which is inexpensive to buy a large bottle.

Pills, which are usually methyl cobalamin, are better used for neuropathy treatment.
 
Many vets want to test serum B12 and folate before supplementing. Others will go ahead and prescribe it for cats who have had long term GI , especially IBD, issues. For GI purposes, you want cyanocobalamin which is inexpensive to buy a large bottle.

Pills, which are usually methyl cobalamin, are better used for neuropathy treatment.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top