04/04/12 Ella PMPS 300

Status
Not open for further replies.

tpr

Member Since 2012
I dislike seeing those pink numbers. I know ECID but what should we expect to see significantly lower numbers when she gets switched over to wet? If I start her at 1 unit of the go slow protocol and she still has very high numbers do we only increase at .25 at a time? I would hate to see her numbers so high over the next few months as we figure out her dose:(
 
Re: 04/04/12 Ella AMPS 383

Hi there!
So glad to read that you have a plan to transition Ella to wet food only. I hope it all goes well. Just stay determined even if she gives you the "I-want-my-dry-food" - look or meouw ;-)

When Kitty started wet-food-only diet, his pre-shot readings were pink-yellow-blue, just pick the range :smile:
I did not deliberately lower the dose when he started the new diet, just continued with the old dose of 1.5u. Immediately on the second day his PM PS was green 92, lowest ever PS number, so I skipped the shot both in the evening and following morning. Following dose was reduced to 1.0u and after that he was surfing on green... if you're interested to see the impacts, see Kitty's SS for dates March 8th onwards. Pretty dramatic changes in BGs and lowering the dose from 1.5u to 0.25u in 4 days. :mrgreen:

GOOD LUCK!
 
Re: 04/04/12 Ella AMPS 383

Kitty was one fortunate kitty!! Thanks for sharing :smile:
Paws crossed for Ella!

Have others had a similar experience with their cats?
 
here is Elie's ss - look in the notes on the right side, and see how his jump in numbers relates to when she gives him the dry food. Tanya did the same thing that you're doing - transistioned him over to canned food.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/pub?key=0AnQpIqkl9cKxdG9Yb0l5OFE5TzRUcDh1ZTB3R291RWc&output=html

did you click on Kitty's ss above in Mia's signature line? that was the other ss i was going to pull out for you.

i've gotta run, but truly, this is the way to go. i think it's going to be anticlimactic for you tomorrow! btw, let's talk dosing when we're there. for now, dropping to 1 unit, going to low carb canned is the next step. we'll look at what her numbers do when they've settled down from all the changes, then give you suggestions for dosing ideas.

hang in there! this is a good plan and both of you will do fine on it.

btw - if you will edit your subject line and ask for feedback on how others transitioned off of dry food, many people can tell you their stories. otherwise, your question's going to get missed. hugs!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top