04/02 Pudding AMPS 276, +2 521, +6.5 315, +9 250

@BellaMills
You are posting correctly on the Lantus forum :cat:
When you link your previous post which you did correctly just add to them
Previous post also , great job !
I never had to test for ketones ,I'll tag a few members and see what they say about the pee pads. Maybe put some pieces of saran wrap in different spits on the pee pad :cat:
 
First off, you need to be more patient with Lantus. Regardless of dosing method, you need to hold the original dose for 5 days/10 cycles for the depot to build, unless he is seeing all numbers above 300. Which he is not. For doses with nadirs in the 200's or less, you increase by 0.25 units, not by 1/2 units at a time. You don't want to bypass a good dose.

I only tested Neko for ketones by catching her mid stream, so I don't know about the pee pad. Some tips here might help: Tips to catch and test a urine sample
 
First off, you need to be more patient with Lantus. Regardless of dosing method, you need to hold the original dose for 5 days/10 cycles for the depot to build, unless he is seeing all numbers above 300. Which he is not. For doses with nadirs in the 200's or less, you increase by 0.25 units, not by 1/2 units at a time. You don't want to bypass a good dose.

I only tested Neko for ketones by catching her mid stream, so I don't know about the pee pad. Some tips here might help: Tips to catch and test a urine sample
Thank you; would you suggest now keeping the 2u or dropping back? I'm sorry, I misunderstood the dosing. I was seeing a lot of 300s and even 500s which I understood would be an increase.
 
Until @Wendy&Neko replies back this might help , I assume you would stay with 2 units for now
from the TR Sticky
Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.
Reducing the dose:

The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive. Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus, Levemir, & Biosimilars ISG safe by taking reductions when appropriate.
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
@BellaMills
 
Last edited:
Regarding testing ketones, can I do this with urine collected from a pee pad? Puddin, thankfully (but unthankfully!), uses a pee pad :facepalm:
This is how I do it. Karamelle only uses a pee pad to pee, so I have no choice. I just lay the strip face down and press it into the pad. It seems to work fine.
 
Back
Top