Islandmomma
Member Since 2016
Cant get a reading on the meter after 2 tries it's too HI 
Just want to be sure im sticking with 0.5u...
Thanks
Just want to be sure im sticking with 0.5u...
Thanks
I'm working all day so not able to testIt is either the high before the bounce clears or a failed reduction. Are you working today or can you stay home and monitor? That will determine if you go up to .75 or stick with this dose today. I'm inclined to think he needs more juice but see what others say.
Ok thanks.Then I would err on the side of safety and increase tonight. He has shown us he can come down fast from a bounce.
Depending on his PMPS, if it's still HI, should I increase?It is either the high before the bounce clears or a failed reduction. Are you working today or can you stay home and monitor? That will determine if you go up to .75 or stick with this dose today. I'm inclined to think he needs more juice but see what others say.
With SLGS you do hold the dose for a week BUT he was taken down more than the usual .25 so I feel that he is not getting enough insulin. Get a test when you get home and post it asking for dosing advice.Depending on his PMPS, if it's still HI, should I increase?
I thought I was supposed to stay here at 0.5 for a week. Or is it safe to increase to 0.75u?
I don't want him skyrocketed for a week but I also don't want to keep dropping his sugars too low.
Thanks for your input.
I will be home today for a +9 after AMPS and after PMPS I can get a +2, +3 but that is all...
Sorry to jump ahead but thinking about tonight already![]()

I did. First one read 72 & 77When I get an "off-the-wall-reading" I imediately check again. Sometimes it's a bad test strip. It's happened to me before.
Please recheck with a new strip and post back
I could but she won't be here tomorrow as my son is going to a friends house tomorrow.The bounce could have cleared. If so his pancreas is working. Can you teach your mom to test once a day between +5-7 while you are at work? Looks like you will be sticking with this dose and definitely not increasing.
I appreciate your input! I checked twice this AM and twice at +9Wow, yeah I saw that you checked twice when you had the HI reading this morning.
I'll get out of the way and let the experienced ones weigh in
Well, judging how quickly she is going green on .50 you might not need us too long. Since you did recheck she actually has earned another reduction. Let's see what the PMPS is before deciding.
I don't want to get your hopes up but sometimes a diet change is all they need and remission comes quickly.meaning he won't need insulin for too long?
I agree with Elise, I would do 0.25U as his new dose. Some kitties who are quickly put on insulin when their diabetes starts, go on a low carb diet after eating high carb dry, can go down dose quickly. Looks like Glen is on a mission.+9 77
What the heck?
PMPS 140 - stick with 1.25u?
I did give him some MC wet food when I tested at +9
Yes I meant 0.25uI think you meant .25 That is what I would give tonight. This boy wants off the juice! Even if he runs a little high for his AMPS, when you can't monitor while you work and he is pushing down fast, I would feel better about a .25 unit dose. Let's see what he does with that. You can always increase if he needs it.
Can't wait to see what his numbers are tomorrow. Are you going to be at work again tomorrow? Not sure what your schedule is but I am so excited to see his progress.Yes I meant 0.25u
Thank you for all your help!
I work all dayCan't wait to see what his numbers are tomorrow. Are you going to be at work again tomorrow? Not sure what your schedule is but I am so excited to see his progress.
If you can easily, the +5 or +6 would be helpful to see how low he goes during the mid cycle .I work all day
I could try and sneak home for a +5 or so...but no guarantees. I'm a nurse and the only one that does my job in my department so sometimes I can't get away.
If I could sneak away should I try for the +5?
It is tiring and frustrating at times but I love my baby and would do anything for him. Granted I can't stay up 24/7 with him when I have to work but almost anything!Looks like Glen is really on a mission. It can be tiring with all the monitoring, but it is exciting seeing him needing less insulin so quickly.
A little assist from the insulin helps the damaged pancreas heal and start working like it should.
He is showing that cats always like to make their own rule book!
Yes, I give them breakfast and leave that out for them to eat whenever they want. They are all grazers so that works best. I also have an automatic feeder that I set to open up at +2.5 and stay open until +4.5 and then another compartment rotates opens with more food. All compartments close at +10.Looking good.
Two observations - this last bounce lasted 2 cycles and then cleared.
He had the "high before the break" that some cats get before the bounce began clearing. That was this morning's black amps.
It wouldn't be uncommon for him to bounce again from hitting green today, and if he does, I wouldn't particularly expect him to clear the bounce while you were at work tomorrow. Of course cat's aren't completely predictable, but if he is yellow in the morning at amps, if it were me, I would only run home if it was easy to do so. However by after work or tomorrow's pm cycle I'd have my radar out watching for him to come down.
That's if he does bounce. Some cats will stop bouncing as they spend more time in green. We don't know how long he was in green today, of course, but given that he didn't zoom up this evening (so far) he may have been green for a while.
Have you got a way for him to get to food while you are at work? I would make that a top priority at this phase.