? 03/31 Jax AMPS 16.2, +6 10.6, PMPS 4.9, +2 8.2, +3 20.4

JaxAttax

Member Since 2023
Hi again. I gave Jax 1.5 for the first time today and while his test during the day was nothing unusual, his PMPS is one of the lowest values we’ve taken at any time of day (4.9).

I didn’t give him any insulin but gave him his dinner. Will definitely keep an eye on him and test again in an hour or two to make sure he’s not continuing downward. I assume I completely hold insulin tonight? How will that effect his “depot”?

If he’s started upwards again at the next test do I need to worry about testing him overnight?

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...2-4-9-4-7-14-8-pmps-21-7.275825/#post-3059906
 
He’s now up to 8.2 at +2.

Was I correct to hold the insulin? Do I need to test him overnight? What should I do in the morning?
 
Sorry no one responded earlier. Next time you need help with his shot, please use the "?" prefix on your thread title and put something like "STALLING! NEED HELP WITH THE SHOT!" to grab the attention of people scanning the board for people who need help.

With SLGS you would not shoot below 90 but if you get a lower preshot, you would stall without food and test in 20 mins to see if he is rising over 90 and you can shoot. He has earned a reduction with that drop below 90 today, so you would go down to 1U from tomorrow.
 
Okay noted, thanks.

Just want to confirm this morning’s dose. He’s been at 1.25 for nearly 3 weeks and yesterday was the first 1.5. Is the decrease to 1 based off the old 1.25 since it’s usually a few days before the depot builds up? Or should I be decreasing back to 1.25? Thanks again.
 
Some cats react to a dose increase in the very first cycle. It's also possible that Jax has been dropping lower but you haven't caught it. With SLGS you would reduce to 1.25U and hold the dose for a week unless he drops below 90 again and earns a reduction.
 
Back
Top