03/31 Furball, Dose Change Question, +5=215

Status
Not open for further replies.

carfurby (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=67553

I am using the SLGS Protocol.

I updated Furball's spreadsheet with the readings I got last night. Her numbers went a lot lower than I thought they would. Of course she's back up again this morning.
 
Re: 03/31 Furball, Readings from PM Mini-Curve, AMPS=395, +3

My vet wants me to increase the dose to 1.5 units. I did so when I gave Furball her PM dose today. Her PMPS=377.
 
Re: 03/31 Furball, Dose Change Question

I am using the SLGS Protocol.

When I gave Furball her PM shot tonight I changed the dose from 1 unit to 1.5 units per my vet's instructions. Her PMPS was 377. I just did my usual before going to bed check at +3 and it is 234. This seems like a big drop to me. I am not worried about her going hypo tonight, but am wondering if the change in dose can produce results that quickly. I am not sure 1.5 is the correct dose. Maybe she should be getting 1.25 units. How do you measure .25 units? My syringes are only marked for .5 units. Thanks.
 
Re: 03/31 Furball, Dose Change Question

we usually change doses by .25u, but if there are high nadirs (the low point of the cycle) we sometimes increase by .5u. look on the sticky at the top of this forum that's called "Lantus & Levemir: New to the Group?" there are photos of smaller doses. basically you eyeball where the plunger is and then be consistent with how you measure it. it's a good idea to draw up a sample syringe (use a used needle & pop, tea, colored water) to save as an example. it doesn't matter if you and i measure the .25u the same, it matters that you do it consistently.

if i were you, since you've given 1.5u tonight, i'd stick with it until you see some lower numbers. for now, furball needs more insulin and a consistent dose will give you less wonkiness.

just so you know (because i didn't), we consider a "low" number to be 50 or under. if you see a 50 or lower, pop open a can of cat food with gravy and give furball one teaspoon of only the gravy, then come and post here for someone to help you. you'll wait about 20 minutes and then repeat the process. i like to make sure people know now, long before they need it so they don't panic. you don't have to do anything until you see a 50, but if you see something below 100, it wouldn't be a bad idea to post so someone can look at where in the cycle it is, and when you should test next.
 
Re: 03/31 Furball, Dose Change Question

That is a big drop, and a big drop like that usually indicates action to come, any chance you can set the alarm to get a mid-cycle number so we can see how far she goes?

Chances are you are not seeing the full effects of the dose increase in this cycle so you will want to watch closely tomorrow too (yay that it's the weekend!). I believe it is below 90 for a reduction using SLGS. Having increased by the 0.5 I'm not sure that I'd reduce again until she's earned it - others may have different views.

I don't have half units marked on my syringes either (can't get them in Australia). You want to get as close as you can to the right measurement but the most important thing is consistency so you pick where you think 0.25 is and then stick with that everytime. I have an example syringe sitting there to eyeball each time I draw the dose. I use BD 3/10 syringes (you are using 3/10 syringes aren't you, otherwise you will have a really hard time finding the 1/4 unit measures) and I measure the 1/4 unit by having the top of the plunger just on the otherside of the unit line with a tiny tiny hint of light between the line and the top of the plunger, 0.25 may line up slightly differently on another brand of syringes?
 
Re: 03/31 Furball, Dose Change Question

by the way, carla, it helps people keep a watch out for you if you edit your subject line with furball's BG numbers so that we can see it from the main page.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top