Re: 03/31/12 Ella AMPS 221 feeding/bouncing question
Hi Ella and tpr,
I understand your concerns about switching from dry food to wet food. We did the change early March and it made a huge difference, so let me share our story.
This may not the best or right way to do it and it may not work for Ella (and others), but it has worked for Kitty.... :mrgreen:
In February Kitty was still fully eating dry food. His insulin dose was 2-2.5u BID and usual pre-shot numbers were in mid to high 300s. I travelled for a week from Feb 25 to March 4, and lowered the dose to a safe 1.5u (pet sitter does not test). After I came back, I decided it was time to make the change in diet. Besides dry food, Kitty had had wet food available for abut 1-2 weeks so I think he had gotten used to the smell etc. Litter mate Joey had already started to like wet food ...
During the final 4 day transition period, I gave only wet food at the meal times, but then left some dry food for the day just before I headed to the office. At night he had only wet food. Pls note! my kitties have been free fed all the time (1 FF can / cat both in the morning and evening, thus normally 4 cans of FF during 24 hour period). When transitioning the diet, the insulin dose was lowered from 2u to 1.5u.
Thursday March 8th was Kitty's first wet food only day.
Day 1+2 on wet food only diet: As I was working on Thursday and Friday, I did not do any mid cycle testing, though then on Friday night (i.e. 2 days on wet food diet only), his PS BG was 92 and I decided to skip the shot as I was not comfortable to shoot to a low number.
Day 3 on wet food only: On Saturday morning I overslept the normal testing and shooting time, and when I tested at +2 from the normal morning testing, BG was still low at 97 ! Thus, I think it was (semi)ok in Kitty's case to miss both Friday PM and Saturday AM shots. On Saturday evening his PS was 202, and then I gave 1u dose (his previous dose was 1.5u on Friday morning). Kitty reached his nadir at his usual early time at +3 and it was 56.
Day 4 on wet food:On Sunday morning (i.e day 4 wet food only day) after AMPS of 130, I gave again 1u, and Kitty was surfing green most of the day. On Sunday evening the dose was lowered to 0.5u even though he did not deserve the decreased dose yet, however I was going to travel again from Monday evening, so I wanted to start lowering the dose already. Then his BG dropped to 50 at +3
Day 5 on wet food: I skipped the morning shot as his AMPS was lowest ever (121) and I was not a home to monitor. In the evening I went on a business trip, so you can imagine that I was asking the whole FDMB for advise what dose to give. And of course (!) I got the best support and advise

and dose was lowered to 0.25u for the time when I was travelling. Pet sitter does not test but even without testing, I did not want to leave any dry food out, but Kitty was on his new wet only diet.
During my 4 days of travelling, Kitty had 0.25u twice a day. When I came back he was in low 200's.
Day 10 (Saturday) on wet food: the dose was increased to 0.5u in the morning and he did a fairly good green surf for most of the day. Evening PMPS was first time green: 86 and I gave again 0.5u. He dropped to 47 at +2.5 testing, and I must say I was not so worried about the low number (probably should have been

). He was acting normal and I did not even give him any HC food... (= hindsight: SHOULD have probably given the HC food at this stage)
Day 11 on wet food: AMPS was another green: 94. WITHOUT thinking I gave him again 0.5u. He would have earned the reduction to 0.25u the night before, but I DID NOT THINK

. During the first hour he dropped to 32 at +1.5. This was the lowest ever reading, and with Serryn's wonderful help we went through the tight monitoring time. What happened with Kitty was that he started to eat frantically at +1.5 when his BG dropped very low. I gave him HC food a couple of times and at +2.3 he was up to 56. Other than eating frantically, he was acting normal, and I must admit that I was not really worried at any time. I had honey ready in case readings would not have risen or if Kitty had started to have hypo signs, but other than that, everything was quite "normal". Of course I was intensively testing BG. In the evening I gave 0.25u
Day 12 on wet food: Kitty had another low AMPS reading (90) and I skipped the dose. I was again going on a business trip the following day, and I think all the best brains here at LL were thinking what dose do we give to Kitty when I was gone. On Monday evening I gave him tiny shot of 0.1u to which he reacted by going down to 59 at +3 testing
Day 13 on wet food: AMPS was as low as 77! Since this day he has not had any insulin, however this was a bit early and forced start for the OTJ trial... I was going away for 5 days, so it was the safest to choose that he would not have any insulin.
Ever since then Kitty has not gotten any insulin

The change in 2 weeks has been just amazing (going from 2u to zero). Besides not needing insulin any more, Kitty has now wonderful shiny coat, he looks 5 years younger and is much more playful than before.
THUS - my recommendation:
go for the wet food as soon as you can!
NOTE:
Above dose increases/decreases may not be normal and recommended way, but we had to adjust the dosing scheme because of my busy travel season. I have received wonderful support and advise from so many people here in LL, and I would trust their opinions on the dosing. There will be times when you will have to choose if you feel comfortable to shoot to a low number. As you can read from above, I did skip a few times when i was not comfortable, but after a few rounds of low numbers, it was ok. If in doubt, my advise would be to choose the safe way and to skip, but with the right tools (HC food and Karo/syrup/honey and testing) you can manage it just fine! GOOD LUCK!
- Mia & Kitty