03/30 Furball, AMPS=303, PMPS=422, +2=341

Status
Not open for further replies.

carfurby (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=67416

I am using the SLGS Protocol.

It's hard to believe I have only been giving Furball insulin shots for two weeks now. It seems like a lot longer than that. Is it normal for her numbers to seem like they are coming down and then jump back up?
 
Re: 03/30 Furball, AMPS=303, PMPS=422

It is normal, Carla...
when a diabetic cat gets used to being in the higher BG ranges,their liver learns to perceive those higher numbers as 'normal'.
Then we begin to treat them with insulin, the liver panics at the lower numbers and dumps counter-regulatory hormones into the bloodstream
to raise the BG. It's known as 'bouncing'...and is one of the more frustrating aspects of FD.

some kitties, like Binks...spend only a short time bouncing, then their liver stops panicking :-D

other kitties take longer in what we call LTS- "liver training school"

hope that clarifies the issue somewhat.

celi
 
hang in there! it's early days yet, and it will get better soon!!! you are on the right track, and certainly in the right place!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top