03/28 Raven AMPS 380/350 (dose increase) PMPS 280 +2 242

SophieFRA

Member Since 2023
Hi all, today’s AMPS was significantly higher than usual. First time I measured it was 380. Then I remeasured and it was 350.

With this in mind, I decided to increase his dose this morning from 2 to 2.25u after 10 cycles rather than waiting until tomorrow - even though I won’t be home during the day. But given his high numbers over recent days and good appetite it seemed like a safe move.

I’m wondering whether these high numbers track with his increased appetite. He eats solely Viva raw Rabbit plus a few freeze dried raw lamb treats (orijen) throughout the day after BG measures (no more than 5 pieces tops). He gets two larger meals (around 5 oz) before his am and pm shots and then smaller meals every 3 hours (around 3 oz). He is a healthy weight - could even stand to gain a little. He’s a little over 11 lbs but he’a very big boned.

Thank you!

@Bandit's Mom - thanks for your advice on yesterday’s post.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-27-raven-amps-303-pmps-310-3-277.275790/
 
Heard back from the vet. Very likely IBD. Recommendation is to feed novel proteins/very strict limited ingredient diet, as I’m already doing.

Excerpt from diagnostic analysis below. The vet said there is no indication of lymphoma or kidney disease at this time given blood work. But something to look out for as possibility in the future.

@Margaret (and Pearl) @Bandit's Mom


ULTRASONOGRAPHIC FINDINGS
Borderline large spleen. Findings could be consistent with congestion, infiltration or can be within normal limits for a large cat.
Small hyperechoic nodule visualized in the liver. The significance of this is unknown, but this is very small and at this time, likely too small to sample. Recommend continued monitoring.
Renal infarcts visualized in both kidneys. Renal infarcts can be an indicator of underlying renal disease.
Prominent muscularis layer in the small intestine. The small intestinal wall changes are most consistent with an inflammatory process (i.e., inflammatory bowel disease) with a low possibility of emerging lymphoma.
Prominent hypoechoic mesenteric lymph nodes. The prominent abdominal lymph nodes are most consistent with reactive lymphadenitis or lymphoid hyperplasia. Neoplastic infiltration is considered less likely.
INTERPRETATION OF THE FINDINGS & FURTHER RECOMMENDATIONS
The combination of the prominent hypoechoic mesenteric lymph nodes and the prominent muscularis layer in the small intestine, are concerning for possible underlying small intestinal disease. This could be inflammatory or neoplastic. Other differentials such as dysbiosis, food allergy/dietary intolerance, severe GI parasitism, etc, are also possible.
Consider the following:
Hypoallergenic diet trial
GI panel
Recommend chronic probiotic therapy
Recommend a fine-needle aspirate of the mesenteric lymph node
If lymphoma is strongly suspected, you could consider a fine-needle aspirate of the spleen.
If there is no positive response to medical management and a diagnosis is still not identified, then
you could consider obtaining GI biopsies, +/- biopsies of the mesenteric lymph no
 
Heard back from the vet. Very likely IBD. Recommendation is to feed novel proteins/very strict limited ingredient diet, as I’m already doing.

Excerpt from diagnostic analysis below. The vet said there is no indication of lymphoma or kidney disease at this time given blood work. But something to look out for as possibility in the future.

@Margaret (and Pearl) @Bandit's Mom


ULTRASONOGRAPHIC FINDINGS
Borderline large spleen. Findings could be consistent with congestion, infiltration or can be within normal limits for a large cat.
Small hyperechoic nodule visualized in the liver. The significance of this is unknown, but this is very small and at this time, likely too small to sample. Recommend continued monitoring.
Renal infarcts visualized in both kidneys. Renal infarcts can be an indicator of underlying renal disease.
Prominent muscularis layer in the small intestine. The small intestinal wall changes are most consistent with an inflammatory process (i.e., inflammatory bowel disease) with a low possibility of emerging lymphoma.
Prominent hypoechoic mesenteric lymph nodes. The prominent abdominal lymph nodes are most consistent with reactive lymphadenitis or lymphoid hyperplasia. Neoplastic infiltration is considered less likely.
INTERPRETATION OF THE FINDINGS & FURTHER RECOMMENDATIONS
The combination of the prominent hypoechoic mesenteric lymph nodes and the prominent muscularis layer in the small intestine, are concerning for possible underlying small intestinal disease. This could be inflammatory or neoplastic. Other differentials such as dysbiosis, food allergy/dietary intolerance, severe GI parasitism, etc, are also possible.
Consider the following:
Hypoallergenic diet trial
GI panel
Recommend chronic probiotic therapy
Recommend a fine-needle aspirate of the mesenteric lymph node
If lymphoma is strongly suspected, you could consider a fine-needle aspirate of the spleen.
If there is no positive response to medical management and a diagnosis is still not identified, then
you could consider obtaining GI biopsies, +/- biopsies of the mesenteric lymph no
@Margaret (and Pearl)
 
Back
Top